Keepsakes from a First Date

Because of that mattress purchase looming, lately I’ve been thinking about our future master bedroom a lot (I haven’t had a truly styled bedroom since high school).  I even asked Ethan if he had any ideas.  His only requirements were a big bed with our finger-paintings hung above it.

These things make me blush, really, even though they aren’t our best work!  We painted them together on our first date; we each kept one: me the better of the two and Ethan the first.  When Christmas rolled around, I retrieved his from his vacant room (he was stationed in Virginia at the time) and got both framed locally.  I love that we’ll always have these as reminders of our magical first date (hanging in our bedroom)!

8 comments

  1. This is the sweetest thing! We have an enormous canvas I “borrowed” from my parents’ art collection above our bed, and it always makes me happy. Love discovering your darling blog!

    xo, Lena

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I can’t wait to hang them up after all this time! Thank you for visiting the blog =)

  2. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Really enjoy your blog!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Love you Mama!

  3. amanda · · Reply

    ooh i love that you got a pic of the art on here!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Hehe, they are so silly but lovely. =)

  4. […] be most ideally placed under our window, which is centered on our longest wall (rethinking the art placement now, […]

  5. […] Kiss” ties into the finger paintings Ethan and I made on our very first date (read about it here), and my Max Wanger take-aways from BLOGSHOP echoes the blues in my little landscape.  And of […]

Leave a Reply

