Do You DIY?

I do not DIY.  I paint, draw, occasionally decoupage–after a year in a woodworking class and three in curriculum incorporating model-making, you’d think my craftsmanship is pretty good, or at least adequate.  Nope.  It actually worries me how bad I can be.  I had almost given up on any hopes of being a master refurbish-er/home flipper/what-have-you. Until I found the above beauty.

After scouring the web for a conveniently chic-cheap hot pink headboard for Ethan’s and my bedroom (don’t worry, Ethan’s already agreed),  I happened upon the “Emporia” on one of my guilty pleasure sites, Horchow.  It’s simple with crisp white piping, and such a fresh alternative to the sea of tufts most commonly accompanying pink.  I would choose the monogram-less version.  Even with that calculated out of the total, the Emporia is still waaaaay out of our price range.  About one thousand dollars out of range.  Yikes.

Because of its simplicity, rectangular-ness and lack of monogram, I am seriously considering making this headboard a (major) future project of mine.  As the website states, it is constructed of birch plywood with just the covering and piping.  I’d like some padding to lean against, so the addition of batting would be in order.  Is this sounding as easy to you as it is to me?

I don’t know if I’ll end up crafting it myself, or employing a local who is more adept than me with tools/sewing.  Getting it custom-made still feels like it’s a little DIY on my part (or maybe not haha).  I’m excited for this as a possibility though!

What do you think?  Can I make this sucker, or not?  Are you the queen of “doing it yourself”?  What project are you most proud of?

(image via)

5 comments

  1. amanda · · Reply

    you can do it!!!!! i am most proud currently of my wall art above my couch!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Thanks cster! I think it’ll be my first priority when I get there!

  2. I love this idea–but am so not a DIY girl. My mom, who is an incredible seamstress, always, always said that if you could buy it, even at a reasonable markup, you should avoid the headache and swipe your card!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I like the way your mom thinks!! I am going to research craftsmen in Anchorage–surely there’s someone who can help actualize this!! If not, I’ll have to keep dreamin’. =)

  3. […] this pink headboard I was seriously considering DIYing?  Gosh I still think it is soo so cute, but I am starting to […]

Leave a Reply

