From MO to Military

It dawned on me last week that I could get my military spouse i.d in my hometown before I make the big move to Alaska.  And because I know I’m going to be a teeny bit stressed throughout that process, I decided to head over to the National Guard office (not too far from my house).  After forty-five minutes of waiting, and fifteen of processing, I walked out with my first tangible form of proof to being married to an Army soldier.  Pretty neat actually.

Since the wedding, I haven’t been feeling very connected to Uncle Sam.  Ethan put me into DEERS as soon as he could after he returned from March’s field training (Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System).  Ever since, we’ve been waiting for command sponsorship; my paperwork has been shuffled through many hands and offices on base, leaving me mostly confused as to where I stand right now.

My new little card, though, tells me I exist within the military world!  It will get me on base with more ease than my previous visits (for his basic and AIT graduations), and I’ll even get a few discounts here and there.  Most importantly, it is another step toward being with Ethan…and really, what could be better than that.

(Last night, some major progress happened!!  Ethan found us an apartment and I booked my flight–more steps toward the big move!!)

7 comments

  1. wooh! Soon enough Evan and I will be able to come visit you in Alaska! Exciting!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      That will be so fun! Our apartment is going to be TINY but…we’d love to host you!

  2. What exciting news!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Once I get back home from this last vacation I’ll have so many chores to get done…but it will be fun preparing for my one-way flight!

  3. maryellen · · Reply

    So many exciting experiences await you!!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know! Finally! Love you!

      1. glamorousbohemianmom · ·

        So glad we got to have some good time with you before the big move! ❤
        Please let me know your flight info, I get freaked when my family flies! 😮

        We are gonna miss your pretty face! I can't wait till we can come visit you guys! I miss my E.. SO excited about your apartment, SO MUCH FUN TO COME SOOONNN!!! YAY! much love!

Leave a Reply

