A Rug to Warm Our Feets

Saturday was so successful for so many reasons (well, I guess just two).  Ethan and I woke up, ate our off brand cereals and headed out in search of a couch, bed frame, and dishes.  I had compiled a list of stores from the phone book, and my hopes were high!

After a few stores, however, my confidence started to falter.  Indigo Design was totally amazing, with its Eames reproductions and funny doorstops, but wasn’t the look I was going for.  The Amish furniture place had some nice leather couches, but we I ultimately decided we should leave.  We ended up striking gold upon entering an antique market, where I immediately noticed the gorgeous woven rugs everywhere.  I asked the sweet owner if she had anything else to offer, and she let us into her storage building where antiques were stockpiled and rugs were plenty.  I immediately eyed this blue-hued beauty (waaay in the back, of course).  Ethan’s muscles came in handy, as he and a worker finagled it out into the open.

Oh my goodness–what a find!  This floral Persian rug has barely any wear, even though its years and years old.  The wool construction has the hand tied knots on the back…it.is.legit.  After some deliberating, interesting astrological conversations and an encounter with a dead mouse in a stairwell, Ethan decided this was the best pick out of all the options–and I couldn’t agree more!  Our little Fiesta was a champ hauling the rug around (it’s dimensions are around 13’x8′).  After around three more stops, we struck gold again with a Flexsteel couch, which I’ll post about later.

The colors are so serene, I’m really digging them (and eek, fretting how to coordinate my collection of bright art).  Not only is the darkest color a gorgeous navy, but peach, goldenrod, sea foam, and light blue help create our rug’s elegant palette.  I can already see it in so many stages of our lives–it will really grow with us!  And as we have hardwood floors, it will be so integral in the coming colder months.  So soo pleased.

*Our bed frame and dishes have yet to be found.  There are two more places left for us to visit, but after that…I’m going to be worried!

12 comments

  1. Great rug! Love it!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Thanks, T!! And thanks for reading!

  2. Renee McDowell · · Reply

    I think it is beautiful! Your going to have your home looking so beautiful! Love Yas!!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Thank you, Grandma Mac!! We love ya too.

  3. so pretty, and a perfect size! what a fabulous find. attractive rugs for decent prices are SO HARD to find.

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know, it was meant to be!!

  4. The rug is GORGEOUS–and a sure sign that more perfect furniture is on its way!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I’m so excited about it =)

  5. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Love how Simon is helping!!!!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Isn’t he the cutest?! He loves Ethan so much.

  6. […] seen anything resembling these?  I’m open on the color, as long as it coordinates with the rug and couch!!  I’d love your suggestions, pretty please! Share this:TwitterFacebookLike […]

  7. […] been staring at our Persian rug ever since we bought it, wondering what colors I’d like best to pull from it when we decorate […]

Leave a Reply

