Our Alaska

I have enough posts up on Our Alaskan Journal tumblr* now that I feel confident to share it most publicly!  I started the journal as a way to visually document our time in the new state–and brush up on my photography skills (or lack there of, you can be the judge!).  These are my favorite images so far.  I initially wanted to take a picture everyday, but it’s turned into more of a weekend thing, since that’s when I actually get to leave the apartment complex.  Stay tuned for weekly updates.

I figured today would be a good time to tell you a little more about what I’ve seen and done here.  When Ethan is at work, I hang out with Simon.  Walking him every two hours is a nice break, but I try to avoid around eleven and twelve–there’s a crazy swarm of bugs that come out like clockwork.  I walked through it twice and hope to never again.  I wiped down all the floors on Monday (my knees were not happy), and finally deflated the air mattress that evening (with Ethan and Simon’s rolling skills of course).  Yesterday I was so chilly, but couldn’t bring myself to close our windows.  So as it rained, I laid in bed under the covers with my book…and then The Bachelorette on abc.com (I’m rooting for Jeff and Sean!).

As for today…the couch is on its way!!!!  And the post office is scheduled to deliver my box of goodies my mom and I shipped before I left (i.e. kitchen utensils, sneakers, my pillow).  Finally I’ll be able to test out our new cookbook!  I’m kind of happy to be getting out of this weird empty-apartment-stage.  Hopefully this weekend produces some good finds to help us along.

How’s your Wednesday shaping up?

* tumblr no longer exists…I figured that was what this blog was for!

2 comments

  1. It’s GORGEOUS, and it sounds like you’re making fabulous progress on the apartment! I remember how much I hated the empty-apartment feeling, but every once in a while, I just want to pull our mattress on the floor and eat take out!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I can’t wait to make adventuring an every weekend thing! And a blanket tent is going up in the living room asap =)

Leave a Reply

