The Alaska Zoo and Other Weekend Events

Happy July, everybody!  Can you believe that June has come and gone, and the 4th is this week?!  I’m flabbergasted as always.  This weekend Ethan and I had some adventures, starting with our trip to Palmer for dinnerware at Half Moon Creek Gallery.  We got up and drove Glenn Highway through some pretty incredible mountain views and grasslands to get to more rural Palmer (the town that hosts the Alaska State Fair actually).  We found a nice overlook and I indulged in some picture-taking.  We found a few farms we might tour later, as well as a funny little gift shop where we purchased a postcard.  After a few more stops and an interesting drive through a campground, we made it to Half Moon right before it opened.  The lady running the shop seemed entertained with our plate purchasing antics, and it was a fairly nice experience.  Their stock of Fire and Light glassware can’t be beat (seriously like a candy store with all the colors).  I’ll post more about the dinnerware later.

After Palmer, we drove across to Anchorage to look for more furniture–and sadly, we left with nothing.  Then we tried finding Taco King, but ended up at Mexico in Alaska instead.  We were beat by the time we got home, but felt like we weren’t quite done for the day.  So we went to the theatre for a showing of Brave, but the short La Luna was far more impressive (and I was completely thrown when we exited the theatre and it was still bright out…silly me).

Yesterday we went to the zoo, which Ethan has been greatly anticipating since his arrival in Alaska.  The weather was cool and the sky was overcast; many of the animals were lounging around.  The ravens were mighty loud, and the river otters were nowhere to be found.  I hate that in zoos it’s difficult to get good pictures, with the fencing in the way and all.  I did pick up a couple of souvenirs, so it really completed the trip nicely.

Then spontaneity kicked in.  Ethan decided it was time for me to drive a go-kart (which I’d wanted to do, but never had the chance growing up).  We had passed a mini amusement center on the ride to the zoo, so Ethan made sure to be on the look out on the way back.  He was so psyched, hopped in #26, and sped off before I was even confidently buckled into my yellow kart.  Boy, did he zip around those turns…he even passed me!!  I think my gas pedal was rickety, because I was having the darnedest time accelerating to a non-granny speed.  C’est la vie.  I’m still glad we did it.

Wow, this post has gotten away from me.  Did you do anything fun this weekend?  I think ours was so jam-packed, I’ll be happy to kick back the next few days.  Oh, and be sure to check out the tumblrs for some more weekend pictures.

6 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Love the polar bear!,,,

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know, that booty kills me!! hehe

  2. What a wonderful weekend–I just can’t get over your amazing adventure, living in Alaska!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I never imagined I’d be living here, but here I am!! =)

  3. Awesome!! Love the pics. I’m so happy for you as you start your marvelous journey!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Thank you dear!!

Leave a Reply

