The Denim Debate

Oh denim.  Such a staple in my hometown Missouri…such a debate on finding the right pair!  I’m not one of those girls who can only have one or two in her closet.  But what even works for me?!

That’s the problem…nothing comes to mind.  The jeans that have satisfied me the longest are from The Buckle.  Big Star Maddies are flared in the leg, cut higher in the back than the front, and have the right amount of stretch to hug the curves.  But the pockets and manufacturer fading kill me.  Another strand of denim that fit right are the Main Line Straight Leg by Lilly Pulitzer, but only when I cuff them (and they don’t come in anything but colored).

My IDEAL pair of jeans would make me look (or at least feel) like this.

Haha, I know…body shape has a lot to do with what jeans work best (another problem:  not quite sure what mine is).

Is it too much to ask for a vast collection of deeply fabulous denim that fits me to a tee??  I don’t really think so.  What’s your go-to denim fit/brand?

(1, 2, 3)

6 comments

  1. kristen · · Reply

    hello, i have been buying my clothes since i was fifteen, when it came to jeans i dreaded it badly . i could take ten pair into a dressing room and not one pair was that perfect pair. i almost gave up on jeans so many times or went with a different material. about two years ago (22 years old) i discovered american eagle jeans :))))))))))))) which is way too expensive for me. i have also found that girls shop and shop and get rid of things like its nothing, yard sales and resale shops are my best friends you find brand new still with tags, its like a 95% off sale :)) american eagle jeans are all i wear now :))) i had a pair that resemble the pic above, made me feel gorgeous, they were american eagle. 😉

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      American Eagle are too low cut on me! Always hit me in the awkward love handle area =S So happy you found what works for you!

  2. Confession (and this is a deep, dark one, so don’t go blabbing this around, but here goes nothin’): A large portion of my denim wardrobe is from Forever 21. They’re inexpensive, you can indulge in a trend (like color, or style, or even wash) without feeling like you have to wear them forever, you can get oil and dirt and what have you on them without having spent $150 on a pair of white jeans. But, I still love a good pair from J.Crew or Citizens, for the days when trendy jeggings just won’t do.

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      That’s a juicy confession!! So how many pairs are in your rotation?

  3. I’m totally feeling you on jeans and style. Ive been cringing at the thought of wearing my clothes!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Jeans are the one thing I’m not ever reeeeally happy about. And it kills me. You know this, though.

Leave a Reply

