The TV Has a Stand (That’s Not a Box)

Check out this detail.  Don’t you just love it?!  This is the elaborate carving on the top of our new TV stand, and I couldn’t be happier about it!

Searching for a TV stand (like every other piece of furniture) was difficult.  I didn’t want it to be anything generic; but after looking at the limited vintage stores here, our options were dwindling.  Our last stop last weekend proved beneficial, however, as we walked through the shop at least four times in search of anything that would do.  I was looking primarily for a taller piece that we could place in the corner of our living room.  Ethan was looking for a low and wide piece to be placed in front of the window.  After some exasperation (and some huffs and puffs on my part), we did another run-through of the different booths.  Then, ever so casually Ethan pointed at a coffee table that was completely covered with trinkets and said, “What about this?”

It was certainly wide enough.  It provided some storage with a lower shelf.  I looked closer and realized what the displays were hiding: the gorgeous Asian inlay of ladies in a garden.  Now, why the owners of the booth covered this surface, I haven’t the faintest idea.  I mean, look at it!!!  I was sold.  Ethan has a good eye hehe.  We had it held for us, and picked it up Saturday.

Lucky for us, this thing is built to last. And it was 50% off, so it wasn’t as harsh on my bank account.  It fit perfectly in our backseat and wasn’t terribly cumbersome up our three flights of stairs.  The wood goes so good with the rug, don’t you think?  I love how our apartment just received some Asian flair!

7 comments

  1. Wow! the pics you took with your phone did not do it justice! I love the first photo of the entire carving! What a beautiful and unique find!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know! So Aunt Jean, isn’t it?!

  2. That’s awesome looking!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      All thanks to Ethan!

  3. Love it! You are really getting things pulled together up there. I can’t wait for a house tour. xo

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I’d like to think I am! Thanks Chelsea =)

  4. […] room table– paper white legs with a bit of scuffing and a darker stained top to match our TV stand.  I think I could accomplish that inside, as long as the weather is nice enough to open up the […]

Leave a Reply

