Kissing the Big Goodbye

I’ve been known to be a bit of a dreamer…and when I dream, I dream BIG…and rather irrationally.  Take for instance the glamorous lives portrayed by Slim Aarons.  The sprawling estates, the summer homes with a view, the stables, private pools, on and on and on.  I was quite enamored with this lifestyle for a long time (not only because the pictures are obviously beautiful, but because I wanted to live in them).  Embarrassing as it sounds, I wanted to make a name for myself, get the mansion, and potentially create a legacy (haha, this is not too long ago).

So something switched in my brain before I moved here; it actually happened on the motorcycle rides my dad took me on–you wouldn’t believe how great of thinking time that is for me.  We’d usually ride the country roads, crossing into neighboring counties and towns.  But when the traffic wasn’t too terrible and humidity was low, we would stay in the city and ride through the big house neighborhoods.  And even though my hometown is quaint, it still has its share of McMansions, some ringing up at over a mill (it’s easy to get that high in areas in which we are living now, but CG just doesn’t have that high of “cost of living”).

I don’t know if reality struck, or I just realized, I don’t want that big house anymore.  I don’t want that kind of heating bill, and I certainly don’t want to clean seven bathrooms.  I’m not opposed to a Victorian with two and a half stories, but I’m sure that’s as big as it’s gonna get.  I know with a blog name of Caviar Dreams, I still will enjoy some extravagance, and lust after some high ticket items.  But this is me kissing my ridiculously-big-house dreams goodbye.  And really, how could I have a humungo home if I want my new dream of living next door to my sister and parents to come true??   Hehe.

(images via)

4 comments

  1. Aww, love this post, Dana. I dream of living next door to my best friend and sister. We would have one giant yard for the kids. I get carried away so easily, but really I just want to feel luxurious AND cozy. ha!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Yes, I love the idea of one backyard!! Hehe, I like the way you think =)

  2. awww i always daydream of us being neighbors!!! cant come soon enough!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know, I’ll cry if that doesn’t happen!

Leave a Reply

