(Hopefully) The Greatest Month Yet

Like every month that comes along, I am so flabbergasted at how time flies.  How have I been married for four-plus months and had Simon since January?!  Any other year, I’d be clinging onto the last days of summer, half-dreading/half-enjoying the fact that school was about to start–but not this one!  So many things changed for me all at once, it’s sometimes hard to grasp!

August will be a very rewarding month.  My sister is coming to visit in less than two weeks!  I am definitely looking forward to exploring with her (and eating out as much as possible).  We plan to hike, shop, and just enjoy each other!!!  This will be the first time she is coming to visit me (and not the other way around) since my K-State days.  But this time there will be a dog and a husband thrown into the mix!!  I already know it’s going to be a blast.

Also this month my beloved Simon turns one!  Ah!  I still remember holding him as a baby, wishing he could find a way into our lives (more of his story on his birthday).  He is so special to me; especially since he was sick this week, we have cuddled and napped to our hearts’ content!  I cannot tell you how shocked I am at the impact he has had on me.  And how I have changed as a dog lover/owner.  But like I said, more later hehe.

I know I said that the military ball was this month here, and it is, buuut… we are postponing our attendance due to Amanda’s visit (seriously who has events on Thursdays!?).  So our other fun plan for the month is attending the Alaska State Fair!!  It will be my first state fair, and I’m excited to try ridiculous fried foods.  If I see a stand, I’m going to be terribly tempted to try fried butter (goodbye waistline!).

Do you have any exciting plans for the month?  Do you have any last minute trips planned before summer comes to a close?

These images are in my Pinterest board for the Splendid Summer contest hosted by Oh Joy!  If you haven’t made yours yet, get pinning!!  The deadline is August 7th!

9 comments

  1. I entered that contest too! I wonder how she choses the winner…so subjective. Love those images…and how fun and exciting that your sister is visiting. It will make discovering places all the more fun. Wao! you really are a newlywed! How fun. Here, Dallas, is terribly hot in August…so I’m not that thrilled….I just want school to start…will be happier on Aug. 28!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Nothing beats brand new pencils and notebooks–well maybe some beautiful fall weather!! I’ll have to find your Splendid board!

  2. Sisters and state fairs sound like a perfect way to spend the month! I’m also pretty partial to fresh notebooks and sharp pencils!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Hehe I think so too!

  3. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Is it wrong to want to buy school supplies?..

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I’m not going to school–so it’ll just be normal supplies, no?

      1. Mary Ellen · ·

        Yep!!!

  4. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I meant wrong for me to buy school supplies?

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      You goob hehe!

Leave a Reply

