My Sick Baby Simon

Yesterday was trying.  After thinking my pup was on the mend, Simon started being sick from both ends this time (very yucky).  And I got really worried.

So we took a taxi to the animal clinic in town.  Ethan didn’t think he could get off early enough to drive home, pick us up, and get to our appointment on time.  He ended up meeting us there.  Of course the techs and doctor gushed about how adorable Simon was.  Even after a day of both p-words, he was spirited and happy during his check-up.  I’m very grateful we went for that check-up though.  We found out a few, very important things.  Simon, being a few weeks shy of one year old, hasn’t fulled dropped yet.  Part of me would be glad he is still my innocent baby (without the full urges of manhood), but it’s actually a serious deal.  Did you know cryptorchidism heightens the risk of cancer?  The only way to ensure a healthy future is to be neutered.  My family has never had a dog neutered before (we never had a need to), but this time it isn’t a question.  While he is under he will also get some baby teeth extracted and a nail trim.  The sooner we get it done, the better.

All this poking and prodding and everything else has left our little guy wiped out.  He really has been a trooper.  Although we still are uncertain what has been causing his sickness, blood & fecal & urine tests will hopefully come back with answers.  Some medications and five days of special dog food will hopefully get him back to healthy.

What a way to round out the week, eh?  Cannot.wait.for.the.weekend.

9 comments

  1. So sorry for Simon. I hope he feels better soon. Its so stressful when the doggies get sick…they can’t tell you how they feel so I think that makes it worse. Pamper him a lot.

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      We’re giving him lots of luvins over here. So far, it’s been a good morning =)

  2. Poor little guy–I’m so sorry for you guys! I’m sure he’s not feeling well, and you both must be worried sick!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      I know when he has his procedure I’m going to be a wreck–I already have a hard enough time leaving him at the groomers =(

  3. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Poor Simon!!! I miss you guys!!!

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      We miss you too!!!!

  4. sorry to hear about your pup! sending positive thoughts for a quick recovery…

    1. danamcdowell · · Reply

      Thank you =)

  5. […] morning I walked Simon to the vet for his multi-faceted procedure and I’m worried sick.  These are some things I’m hoping keep my mind off […]

Leave a Reply

