Book Review | Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

When I still worked at the good ol’ bookstore, I would take every chance I got to sneak peeks at Mindy Kaling’s book.  We had it featured on an end-cap for a few weeks where it really caught my attention!  But once it was moved into the humor section (a section I personally loathed straightening), I kinda forgot about her and her perky book cover.  Then Chelsea posted a sweet review on the audiobook version and my want ignited once again!  After feeling somewhat depressed from The Children’s Book, I scooped this baby up and finished it in two days.

As you may have already noticed, I’m not one for reading celebrity books, or (auto)biographies for that matter.  Although I find the details of people’s’ lives quite interesting, I rather enjoy a good piece of fiction more.  Buuut, from her hilarious antics as Kelly Kapoor on The Office (I’m guilty of marathoning that series in college) and her supporting roles in recent comedy films (she was one of the better characters in The Five-Year Engagement), Mindy has been on my radar.  And I probably could not love her anymore than I do since reading her book.

In real life, I have a hard time finding people with the same upbringing as Amanda and me.  My parents were always happy in their marriage, worked like crazy, and used their income to send us  both to private school for k-12!  They set strict rules for us, and we didn’t seem to mind much.  Report cards held great value, and we spent our nights doing homework at the dining room table.  If we finished early we could watch TV as a family and be in bed by nine.  We weren’t terribly athletic (we have a combined four years of church league basketball to our names), but we ran around like hooligans in the backyard anyway.  It was a pretty simple and lovely childhood.

Reading Mindy Kaling’s upbringing was like a breath of fresh air.  She was pretty similar to us!!!  She had the traumatic school experiences of ridicule, learned to ride her bike at age twelve, and had a healthy appetite.  I loved reading about her housing situation during her starving writer years in NYC, and how she entered the entertainment scene playing Ben Affleck (what?! yes).  After that,  Mindy skyrocketed to fame as a comedy writing rockstar, but her upbringing has kept her good to the core.  And she recognizes the importance of a well-curated closet…I really respect her.

Some of my favorite details from Mindy’s book are little comments about who she is.  She’s not afraid to admit to eavesdropping, and she cries super easily.  Mindy included adorable/embarrassing pictures of her childhood, and divulged she usually does her writing in bed (not in her fancy self-designed office).  She even has a formula for a man’s appearance, which I agree with 100%.  I really feel like I could be best friends with this girl.  I was laughing out loud while reading this (I can’t say that for many books).  And if I’m being candid here, I think I snorted a few times too.

Go.buy.this.book.  Support this crazy funny lady.  She’s got a good head on her shoulders and awesome shoes on her feet.  What is better than that?

(image via)

3 comments

  1. almost finished i think!

  2. I’ve had this book laying around my house for months and I still haven’t found the time to read it! Need to put this on my list of things to do! haha

    1. Oh girl, you’ll breeze through it =) it will give you some laughs too!

Leave a Reply

