Driving Lessons

Something sad is in our future.  It’s by no means the saddest thing that could happen to a military couple…but.  Ethan is scheduled for training in a nondescript American desert next March, which will leave Simon and I all alone for thirty-one days.  Yes, we’ll spend our first anniversary apart, but…that’s not what this is about.  This is about driving.

Our new car, as an incentive for Ethan, is stick shift.  I haven’t driven in almost three months, but it’s been a whole year since Ethan’s first try at teaching me to drive (in his little red Civic).  Needless to say, I’d forgotten everything since then.  But with good weather days dwindling and his training date looming, I needed to learn regardless of my nerves.

Ethan took me to his company’s parking lot this weekend (I got my Alaskan license a few weeks ago…so I’m legit).  It was empty and reminiscent of my high school driving lessons with my mom.  We worked on the concept of the clutch, shifting between first and second gears, and braking.  Baby steps.  I didn’t kill it at all, so overall it was a success.  I even got a dipped ice cream cone as a reward.

We have a long way to go before I’m whizzing around on Alaskan highways and gallivanting in downtown Anchorage.  But I do feel a little better about starting to learn.  I really can’t imagine getting used to the idea of using my left foot while driving, so wish me luck!

Did you do anything crazy this weekend?

2 comments

  1. Shauna L. · · Reply

    You’ll get used to it quicker than you think. My stepdad taught me to drive a stick in 2 or 3 lessons. (I had a leg up because I already used both feet to drive my automatic. I can’t remember why now, but I did back then.) You’ll be fine! Good luck!

    1. Haha, thanks! There were some hills in Cape that I used to use my left foot for the brakes so my right foot could push the gas quicker…mainly the hills =)

Leave a Reply

