Conversationality | Style Me Casual

I got a real taste of Alaska street style when Ethan and I attended the state fair.  Lots of fleece, jeans, and ankle boots…imagine that!  And while I heard before I moved that Anchorage was voted the worst dressed city in America…I have to admit, it’s hard being stylish here.  It’s funny to me that after all the footage of Fashion Week on my favorite blogs, I’m pondering the question…what if I’m really a sweatshirt girl at heart?

I’m not entirely sure how I’d be getting on if I had to report to some workplace…seeing as I’ve been wearing my Humpy’s Alehouse tee every chance I can and rotating my two favorite pairs of jeans.  After spending my last shopping excursion acquiring a small collection of summer wears, the cold temps and rainy climate of Alaska have me groveling.  My gifted North Face fleece has done me wonders, but I haven’t been feeling fulfilled (on many different appearance levels).  I’ve tried so many places when looking for the clothes to reflect my personality, but none of them have felt quite right.  Is the sporty/outdoorsy look of Alaska my last frontier?  Maybe the fashion scene isn’t for everyone…and by everyone I mean me.

I’ve given style/fashion so much thought in my lifetime that I don’t know what to think anymore!  Part of me thinks that wearing simple tees with warmer top layers would not only suit my casual lifestyle, but also the environment in which I live.  Denim and cotton are practically the foundation of the Midwest fashion, and I almost feel as though I finally want to become more of how I am than try to change it.  My number one top is a vintage band tee…what more proof do I need?

If you are big on style/fashion and find my thoughts atrocious, please let me know.  I think I’m finally realizing that that world is not for me, and it may take everyone (including myself) a while to get used to it.  I want to stay as natural as I can, and for me I’m thinking that’s polished casual.  And that fact that I’m itching to slip on a Great Gatsby sweatshirt now isn’t helping.

/ image via /

11 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    There is nothing more comfortable than a favorite tee or sweatshirt!

  2. I’m a button down and jeans kind of a girl….but love fashion….we can admire it even if we don’t wear it…all the time…I think that Great Gatsby sweatshirt is the bees knees…I think its all in the mix and dressing appropriately for the occasion and the place….in Alaska jeans and Ts…in NYC a bit more sophisticated. I think the key is to adapt.

    1. That’s great! Adapting is a good thing to keep in mind. Thanks =)

  3. there’s seriously nothing better than the ‘basics’!! I’m a jeans & t-shirt gal myself (oh and leggings- I can’t live without em)…I just mix it up every now and then w/ scarves & weird accessories (like my favorite necklace is a little gold bird skull on a long gold chain…weird eh?). I think the other factor- is where you live! your wardrobe needs to be FUNCTIONAL…which outweighs any other kind of style factor (in my opinion). I’m loving that Gatsby sweatshirt…

    1. I’d love to see this necklace of yours! Thanks for sharing =)

  4. I’m big on style–but the personal kind. Wear what you feel good in, and what your comfortable with–and if it happens to be stylish, then that’s just an added bonus! I’m a consummate prep, even more so now that I don’t live on the East Coast, and I live in flats, cuffed jeans, high waisted skirts and button downs–I really don’t know what I’d do without the button down!

    1. I’ve tried most of the style nouns, prep included! But nothing has stuck!!! I blame it on my years of uniforms and sharing a closet with my sis. I’d love a look at a week of Lena outfits =)

  5. love this photo! That drink looks steaming hot and delicious!

    1. It’s perfect for fall, isn’t it? Thanks for stopping by =)

  6. […] know I know…I spoke of sweatshirts here, but I confess, I was reluctant to get all sweatsuited up again.  Like how I dressed when I […]

Leave a Reply

