Conversationality | Big Dreams

Determining one’s passion is one of the most debated topics in life.  Some people choose careers that coincide with their passions.  Others choose a career that affords them the time/money to partake in their passions.  Still others go through life passionless with careers they do not care for.

Right now, I am career-less.  I do not lack passion however.  I often feel that I have had too many passions in my life…or aspirations to have multiple passions.  I have meddled in many facets of the arts: theater, photography, visual arts like painting and drawing.  And I write.  Theater drifted away once I began college, which is sort of a shame as I was rather good on stage.  My photography has been minimized over the years as I’ve never been happy with the results.  I received some training in the visual arts in school, and these have always been present in my life, pulling me in one direction.  And writing has always pulled me in another.  I suppose college is where you determine your path and then fulfill it accordingly.  But it didn’t work that way for me.  So I’m here, in Alaska, still pondering which passion I should nurture.

Art or writing.  At this point, I do feel certain I must choose.  My lifetime has already been divided by my efforts to produce art or literature and because of that, I haven’t produced either (not well, at least).  So I asked my three confidantes: my husband, my sister, and my mom.  Sometimes I think they know me better than myself (as I often get in my own way).  They all gave me the same answer.  I should focus on my writing.

It is hard to put aside a part of myself I always had hope for.  Sacrificing one passion for another feels like a defeat, that I failed in making all my aspirations work.  But, it’s okay.  Apparently I write well, so that’s what I’ve decided to work on.

Do you have multiple passions that you juggle or have you clearly always had one?  Is your career relevant to your passion or does it afford you the means to enjoy it?  I’m extremely interested to find out.

/ image via /

12 comments

  1. i struggle with this all the time. I studied business, finance…..and gosh I wish I had done more of the arts…..so this is what I’m enjoying now….but wish I could do/learn more. I’m working on it.

    1. I think you are succeeding in your endeavors!! I’m always so impressed with business majors too =) It’s tough though, choosing one thing or the other.

  2. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    you know what i chose! sheesh. not always the happiest at work, but i’m happy with everything that’s happened getting here.

    1. I know, cster. We are different in that way! =) I think your new store will be good for you.

  3. This is such a great question–and one that, I think for those of us who are good at or enjoy many things, can be so difficult! John is always ready to open a restaurant and start a whiskey distillery and get his PhD and play guitar concertos with international orchestras and land a professorship at an Ivy League University, or maybe a really good conservatory–but I like to do things one at a DAMN TIME! Even though I have two music degrees, I know what I ultimately want to do is musicology–and even if I’m not actively pursuing it at this moment, I know that what I’m doing generally follows a model that will make that happen–fingers crossed!

    1. I always hate that lull when I’m not actively pursuing my goals. It’s usually when I’m not working on one of my passions that I freak out and brainstorm other things I could try to achieve (like opening an Etsy shop or trying my hand at oil painting). Those usually end badly too =). Both you and John sound extremely ambitious–especially with all that music!!

  4. Totally know where you are coming from! I have multiple passions. But, I think one needs to decide on one and then go at it full force or else you won’t get to where you want to be.. Now, to decide what that one passion will be! lol

    xx
    Giovanna
    http://www.oliveandanarrow.com

    1. Right?! I need to go full force pronto! Thanks for stopping by =)

  5. I’ve always had multiple passions. Of course, I have my writing, which is my main drive. But, over the years, I’ve found a love of drawing too. It’s something I enjoy, even though I have so little to draw as of late. Every once in a while, I get the pencil and sketchbook out, just to see what I can bring to life.

    I think the secret to juggling multiple passions is to prioritize them. Also, if it’s possible, find a way to make one passion work for the other. When I went to release an ebook back in July, I knew I needed a cover, so I drew it. It doesn’t always come quickly or easily, but, as your wise header tells us, We Must Create Our Dream Jobs.

    1. That’s a really good idea, Len! I’d love to see your work =) And thanks for the follow!

  6. oh, I hear you. I’m still trying to figure out which way to go. and I feel like I’m running out of time. and the time already spent sometimes feel like time wasted. I’m still trying to combine visual arts and writing. it’s called visual communication for a reason. there is something in there that relates to, connects with writing. or so I hope. so it’s writing first. graphic design second. photography third. I know I may have to give one (two?) up at one point. I hope I don’t. I hope you find a way to combine your passions.

    xxx

    1. I had a class in college called visual communication–it was obviously my favorite =) Prioritizing is so challenging, but I guess if you succeed in one it’s worth it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

