Inside #9 | The Pineapple & the Tablecloth

Happy Wednesday everyone!  If you haven’t already seen, my redesign with Victoria of Vivaleur has wrapped up and I couldn’t be happier with the result!!  If you ever need branding, graphics work, or help designing a menu for the holidays, she.is.your.girl.  I promise!  I’ll tell you more about it next week, but for now, it’s back to regular programming.

You may have noticed today’s featured items last week.  The pineapple is an Etsy find I snagged last year from this shop, but until now I never really knew what to do with it.  The top comes off to reveal a roomy interior, but it only held random receipts I’d empty from my purse.  I knew we wouldn’t have many surfaces in our new place that I was willing to sacrifice for tchotchkes, so I left it packed up in a box filled with keepsakes.

I don’t know when it hit me, but I realized it would be a perfect biscuit jar for Simon.  Of course this happened once we were already 3800+ miles away from home.  Thankfully, my mom didn’t have a problem sending it to me.  Right now we have filled to the brim with milk-bones and centered on our dining room table.

Speaking of our dining room table, how do you like the new tablecloth?  It has cured me of my uncertainty about our dining room table.

But did you know it is really hard to find round tablecloths that are floor length?  Of course that’s what I was looking for, and I ran out of resources before finding one.  That’s when I switched gears and started to consider square-shaped cloths.  I wanted to keep things simple and go sans-pattern, but needed some sort of detail, however small.  Hemstitching ended up being my favorite option, and this flax colored cloth matches the piping on our couch.  Right now we are using the round top instead of adding the leaf, but it works great both ways.  It makes me so happy whenever I see it…and even more happy I got to save my pennies for something fun (instead of replacing the table altogether).

Do you have anything you love to store your dog’s treats in?  Ours makes for a great sculpture and allows for more excessive doggie-doting.  Although I may switch the pineapple out with something more festive for the upcoming holidays, I don’t think the tablecloth’s texture or color is confided to one season.  I’m excited to see how it complements future decorations!  Still on the hunt for napkins…perhaps with a hemstitch detail as well?

P.S. Are my bare walls killing you?  They are a royal pain.  Too bad the wall board is really fragile.  Or else I’d make something like this happen.

13 comments

  1. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    wahahaha, i love that pin!

    1. Isn’t it funny?! I wonder what Simon’s face would like that short! (I’m not willing to find out though haha)

  2. What a great idea!! I love it. Makes something beautiful practical as well. And I love your rug! Yes! congrats I love your new look. It is chic and sophisticated…and elegant.

    1. I also love your tag line!!! OMG that is my favorite part! I keep thinking of one for me…and its so difficult! but you nailed it!

      1. Thank you thank you! Chic/sophisticated/elegant is what we were going for! I’m so so happy with how all my design endeavors are turning out =)

  3. LOVING the fresh look of your blog lady!! it’s so clean and fresh.

    1. Yay!!! That makes me so happy! Thank you =)

  4. Lady, your redesign is ah-may-zing. Fits so well, and it’s so fresh and pretty. Love the pin of the week feature, too!

    1. I’m so happy you love everything! It means so much =)

  5. caseylane · · Reply

    so my matching one sits on my desk at work and perks me right up! pineapple pair we are!

    1. =)! I’m so happy you still have it!

  6. Oh my goodness that pineapple is amazing!!! What a great find, glad you found a use for it xo

    1. I’m glad as well! It’s a bit of everyday happy =)

Leave a Reply

