Inside #9 | The Dresser

When my sister was here visiting, we found this antique dresser for the bedroom.  It had some veneer issues and wasn’t perfect, but it had interesting storage and deep drawers.  We brought the big lug home and it’s situated directly across from our bed.  Needless to say, I’ve been pondering how to refinish it ever since.  I initially drew up sketches that resembled this project, but the deep wood and eccentricity is growing on me…so much so that I am brainstorming new treatments for the old piece.  I keep thinking about it years from now; I definitely want to retrofit it into being a coveted heirloom.

While brainstorming, I sought out some of my favorite pins as well as images from Gump’s.  I must say, I’m intriguing myself.  How this will look for with the new art I’m considering for over the bed, I have no idea…but here is where my mind is floating in terms of refurbishing the dresser.

I’d like to strip the molding off the smaller drawers and polish the existing hardware.  I understand I have nowhere to tackle this project right away, and I have to be patient until we have a garage or backyard of some sort.  But I am so.eager.  Do you think my plan looks promising?  How would you refinish this piece?

/ 1 / 2 / 3 /

9 comments

  1. It’s such a fabulous piece, and I think black with gold accents is absolutely the way to go!

  2. I think the piece is beautiful and has really great bones. I love the shape and the different drawer sizes. I think your gold and black refurbishment would kill it for sure. are you handy? I think it has great potential. what art work are you considering?

    1. I took a wood-working shop class in college, so I think I’ll be able to manage these cosmetic changes =) and for art…I’ll be posting about that in the coming weeks!

  3. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I love it!!!!!!

    1. I know you do hehe!

  4. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    The fun part about this piece is that it has many undiscovered stories and yet you have created a new story for it!!!

    1. You’re funny =) Love you.

  5. […] still feel like painting up my dresser (different from what the link suggests), but think that would be too large for inside the […]

Leave a Reply

