A Weekend with My Soldier

I couldn’t be more happy from the weekend, I tell you!  Saturday we drove out on Seward Highway to look for a spot for our first Christmas card photo.  On our way to Girdwood, I was noticing a trend…many of the overlooks and observation points Amanda and I enjoyed here were closed for winter!  Seems a little silly to me…shouldn’t they be open for the majestic snow-covered mountains?  Ethan didn’t want to drive another ninety-eight miles to Seward, so we got some donuts (yes, I was bad…not gluten-free) and turned around.  As we drove, the sky cleared and drizzle dried…we stopped at the guardrail and snapped a few pictures (another win for self-timers).  Poor baby Simon was shivering pretty bad; we decided on a picture in the warmth of the car.  The best part of the drive was listening to the oldies station…it made me feel like Christmas (Nat King Cole does that to me!)!

Driving back into Anchorage provided a perfect opportunity to stop in one of my favorite shops and pick up some Christmas supplies (post about this later).  Once we got home, we were both pretty tired, but ended up not napping.  Instead I blogged until 4:45 (when I asked Ethan when friends were coming over…his answer was five)!  I power cleaned until they knocked on the door and we hosted a small wine and cheese party.  The boys planned it especially for me since I can’t drink beer.  We played an updated version of Clue (which I thought was whack) and several rounds of Jenga.  I was ready to call it a night by nine and luckily so were our guests!

Veteran’s Day arrived with a sleepy start.  All three of us had an unusually difficult time getting out of bed, but with no plans for the day, it didn’t really matter.  I washed dishes as Ethan slept in, which gave me plenty of time to ponder Veteran’s Day.  My father was a Navy man for years before meeting my mom and starting our family, and I never thought I would date, let alone marry, a soldier.  It takes extreme courage to sign up to the armed forces; it always amazes me to see young people willingly agree to fight for our country.  Ethan, his younger brother, and all his friends have my gratitude for doing what I never could.

How was your weekend?  Did you do anything fun?

8 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    We will always be grateful for those that serve to keep our country free!!!

  2. Is that photo yours??? AMAZING!! You are surrounded by such beauty! Happy about the donuts even if they weren’t gluten free

    1. Thanks Albertina! I really wanted to drive out before we were hit with more snow!!

    1. Thank you so much!

  3. Sounds like such a wonderful, cozy weekend!

Leave a Reply

