Conversationality | Thankfulness

Thanksgiving is approaching, and with it, thoughts of home.  This is my first Thanksgiving with Ethan/away from my family and it is bittersweet.  For now, I must push aside wistful thoughts of past traditions and make new ones here.  Thanksgiving dinner is at our house this year, so I get to play hostess in a big way (hello, first turkey).  I wish I could get all sorts of crafty with place cards and extravagant table settings, but I know it’s not going to happen.  And really, that’s not what the day is about.  Especially for all of us away from our homes, this Thanksgiving will be for counting our many blessings and thanking the universe for our good fortune.

Although we are so very far away and can’t make quick trips in for the holiday, I’m holding my loved ones in my heart (I know back home things won’t be too normal.  My sister isn’t even able to make it home.  I have an inkling the morning will start with frantic phone calls about cooking to both Amanda and my mom, with the Macy’s Day Parade playing in the living room).  It is really important for Ethan’s friends to be a part of our first Thanksgiving.  However much I need my family, we will have to be each others’ families this year.

This all may sound a little melancholy, but I really am thankful this year.  I’m thankful for my wonderful family, which got bigger this year with my marriage to Ethan.  Everyday I talk to my parents and sister and everyday I see Ethan (which means a lot for military families).  I am thankful for my Simon.  And I’m thankful for the good times to come when we are all reunited again in December.  Something else I’m thankful for is our health and that we are able to live comfortably.  I am thankful for my education, my college degree, and that I have the opportunity to work on my writing without other pressing obligations.  I am thankful for the lack of stress in our lives and the glittering future before us.  It feels like we have a long way to go before Ethan is out of the army, but I feel like it is just the right amount of time for us to get a handle on our priorities before we re-enter civilian life.  Lastly, I am thankful for the bonds I’ve made and continue to make through the blogging community.

Thank you for reading, and I wish you a warm and love-filled week.

/ image via /

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    We are very blessed and have plenty to be thankful for!!!! Love you!!!!

  2. How beautiful. I have spent many a Thanksgiving far from family and like you say your friends become your family when far away. I’m sure your Thanksgiving day will be perfect. We really are blessed and have so much to be thankful for. With all we have lived through the past 4 years health is at the top of my list!

    1. I never realized til I got older how much I took my good health for granted! Happy Thanksgiving, Albertina =)

  3. Have a happy Thanksgiving!! I’m sure everything will turn out great. Kudos to you in making your first turkey!

    1. Thanks Kristen! I’m hoping everything is edible at least =)

  4. This is such a lovely, grateful post–beautiful.

    1. Thank you so much Lena!

  5. Your are a wonderful lady, and I am so thankful Ethan has you. Hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Love and miss you both! xoxo

Leave a Reply

