Style Defined

defined1

Happy New Year lovelies!  I hope you all drank champagne to your hearts’ contents last night and found a way to stay snuggled up in bed for longer than usual this morning.

The first of January always finds me floating in the clouds, hopeful for not only this fresh start, but also for my personal new year that is now just twelve days away!  With all of 2013 waiting in the wings, I can’t help but feel I am really coming into my own.  Last year was certainly full of big and exciting changes; however now that I am situated, with no foreseeable big plans ahead of me, I am focusing on me.

“Me” has been a very fluid concept ever since I started Caviar Dreams roughly eight months ago.  Truth be told, for a long time I had been rejecting what was decidedly Dana and trying to make myself fit a mold I simply could not fill (the imagery that pops into my head are the stepsisters cramming their toes into Cinderella’s dainty glass slipper (though I’m not suggesting I am evil or anything short of a princess haha)).  When I finally realized how exhausting it was trying to find and live a set of rules that never applied to me in the first place, I mentally journeyed back to a time in my life when I wasn’t corrupt from sensory overload.  What I found was a young girl, free spirited and unfazed by the social structure that surrounded her.  Daydreamer, story-teller, the works.

It was then that I decided to let go of all the complexities that I had gotten so tangled in and simply be.  That means accepting my quirks and my passions.  I can no longer disregard my love for the dramatic, the ornate, and the equally warm and cozy.  I must embrace my love of the hauntingly beautiful, as well as just the haunting.  All of this also means I cannot be afraid to blaze my own trail, and make my own rules as I go.  Just because I haven’t seen something done before, doesn’t mean I shouldn’t give it a go.  Hello Mrs. Obvious…I don’t know what took me so long!

defined2

defined3

Don’t be afraid of the changes you are going to see on the blog.  Through all of this, I will in fact be honing my eclectic eye and indulging in extravagance like my tagline states.

See you tomorrow!  As always, thank you for your readership. xx

| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

6 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Go for it my dear!!!!!!

  2. Love a fresh start and a chance to make a change! Happy New Year friend 🙂

    1. Happy New Year!!!

  3. love this: “blaze my own trail, and make my own rules as I go.”
    you go girl.

  4. Can’t wait to see what this new year will bring!

Leave a Reply

