The Lily Ashwell Collection

lilyashwell1

“A lovingly crafted collection with soulful references to dustbowl workwear, outgrown children’s silhouettes, and the haunting femininity of a bygone past…”

I’ve often fantasized about living a simple life:  waking up with sunshine pouring through my bedroom window, leaving the screen door open while tending a meager garden, picking wildflowers from a field to set on the table at dinner.  All of that comes with a beautiful old farmhouse I’d be restoring, and some way to live without a conventional nine to five job of course!  When I stumbled upon Lily Ashwell’s collection through her mother’s interiors site, I couldn’t help but feel I found the best-kept secret in fashion.

With Midwest sensibility and effortless styling, I can see all of these clothes in my antique dresser, with a tiny bag of lavender to keep them smelling wonderful.  From the Mary dress which could easily double as nightie to the Eve (farmer’s market ready), I don’t see how anyone could tire of these tiny florals and breathable fabrics.  They harken back to an era that emphasized quality over quantity, and fulfill my love of all things vintage, while being sized appropriately for today.  And they are crafted in the USA!  A lot of my favorites are only viewable through the Spring catalog, but the holiday collection is available for purchase.  Which piece is your favorite?

| images via, collage by me |

12 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Lovely collection!!!!

    1. Isn’t it though? =)

  2. Exquisite! The detailing on the necklines and the 3/4 sleeve dresses is divine. So very Grapes of Wrath, but also wistfully hopeful. I love, love, love them. Thanks for introducing me to the collection.

    1. Wonderful! I thought the whole idea behind the clothing was enchanting.

  3. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    I agree with Red–the necklines and 3/4 sleeves are what really stood out to me!

    1. Hehe, yay! I do love 3/4 sleeves so much.

  4. I have been drooling over Lily’s line for a while now too! I’m obsessed with the Fair Aisle Cardigan that Serena wore on Gossip Girl. It sold out for a while and is finally back in stock! Too bad I don’t have an extra $400 laying around!

    1. You know, for these clothes, I think that you could easily pass it off as an investment purchase 😉

  5. The way you described that life just makes my heart pitter patter!

    1. Awww thank you! I hoped someone would share my longing for that style of living.

  6. I like the line…thanks for the intro will loo into it. I love anything crafted in the USA. ANd I love your collage! I need to remember how to do something similar.

    1. Thanks so much! It was fun to play around with the images…and they were just made to be layered =)

Leave a Reply

