DIY Doggie Sweater

diy1

This year I resolved to be less of a scaredy cat and do more diy projects.  And with a January goal of making Simon a sweater, I decided to be a little fearless and go for it…on my birthday!  I’d read the tutorial a billion times before I started, but I was terribly nervous about cutting into the sweater!  After I did the first snip though, I whipped out the pieces in no time.  I used the sweater’s ribbed hem for the neck, cut the triangle in the same direction as the rectangle, and chopped the collar off to finish the bottom edge.

diy2

Not bad for sewing it all by hand (alas, I don’t have a sewing machine).  While I had to cut holes to compensate for Simon’s larger legs, I otherwise followed tutorial step by step.  If I were to do it over, I would cut the belly piece into a trapezoid, not a triangle.  For medium sized dogs, like Simon boy, more material is needed (to keep it from looking like a racerback front).

So far, he hasn’t gotten any knots from wearing the wool, but as the months progress, I may sew in a lining to be on the safe side.   Anyway, Simon and I are both excited he has a new sweater to wear.  And it was made with love of course!  With the leftover fabric, I might just make matching ones for his brother and sister!  Happy Friday!

diy3

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Awww, he is soooo cute!!!!!!! Clementine and Teddy would love to match big brother!!!!

    1. I’ll need their measurements…I’m keeping the rest of the sweater, so maybe I can start after our next visit.

  2. Well, doesn’t he look dapper! What a fun little project- love it. xo

    1. Thank you! It’s his new favorite…I love the way the collar fits him =)

  3. AWWWW sooooo stinkin cute! MUST try this diy! It turned out great 🙂

    1. Yes you should! Lola would look so cute in a sweater for chilly Cali days =)

  4. This is too cute! love it!

  5. too cute!! you are the mama!! He looks so cozy and precious!

    1. =) pretty proud!

Leave a Reply

