A Look at Mid-January

januaryportrait1

Happy Monday!  It is pretty happy for me–Ethan has off (gosh, I love his four-day weekends!), and this weekend we treated ourselves in a lot of little ways.  Friday, Ethan convinced me to put my nook down and go see Mama with him in theaters.  I’d been wishy-washy about wanting to see it for a couple reasons (1.  I swore off scary movies after seeing Paranormal Activity 2, 2. it was presented by Guillermo del Toro, and I was worried it’d be a flop like Tarantino presenting Man with the Iron Fists).  But curiosity won me over.  We ended up meeting some friends there, getting amazing seats after waiting in the concession line for forever, and enjoying the film.  I jumped (a lot!) and closed my eyes in some parts, but I really didn’t feel scared once the credits began to roll.  On the drive home, I jabbered about how it could have been better/scarier and Ethan rolled his eyes.

Saturday I woke up early to get ready for my hair appointment at Salon DaVinci.  I felt like my hair was already in mullet territory from my December chop, so a trim was in order!  I definitely have the urge to grow it out already, and this new shape will help me transition easily…I guess I still haven’t found “the perfect haircut” hehe.  After that, I checked out Lenscrafters for some new frames, but couldn’t decide on any.  I stopped into Circular on the way home and picked up an Alaska Roots hoodie for Amanda.  Ethan had pizza waiting for me when I got back, and we went grocery shopping soon after.  We got lots of treats (like good shrimp from the seafood counter, cake donuts, and Cheetos), and happily munched our way into the evening.  After a few movies and some reading, I curled up with Simon for a cozy night of peaceful sleeping.

januaryportrait2

Sunday, Simon and I woke up early to a chilly and gloomy morning (surprise, surprise).  After putzing around the Internet and Skyping my mom, I flipped on the TV in time to catch the last half of The Bodyguard.  Ethan emerged from the bedroom once it was clearly afternoon; it started to snow not long after that.  I traded watching Revenge for a double dose of Downton Abbey, and ended the night with my nook once again.

How was your weekend?  Are you enjoying a free day today, or are you back to the daily grind?

januaryportrait3

Final Note:  These photos mark some changes in the McDowell household, as well as a milestone.  Not only is my hair looking different these days… but Ethan had decided to grow a moustache (much to my chagrin).  He very much enjoys scratching it on my neck and thinks it looks pretty cool with these aviators he found in our rental.  And amazingly, one year has officially lapsed since I saved my Simon boy from a life on the streets (read his story here).   I couldn’t be happier with the fun and love he has filled our home with.  My mom is baking him some Snicker Poodles to send him later this week.

10 comments

  1. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    you guys are the COOLest

    1. The coolest of the coool!

  2. Look at you guys… so awesome. What a great weekend. xoxo

  3. Love your doggie! ahhh hate when my hubby tries to grow his facial hair out! Its so scratchy and not kissable lol.

    1. Very scratchy indeed! Sometimes I can’t feel it, but those are rare and sweet moments hehe.

  4. Love the haircut and your dog is so precious! It was so nice having a relaxing long weekend!

    1. Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it as much as we did!

  5. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Simon= sweet! Dana= beautiful!!!! Ethan= coooool!!! Love you guys!!!!

    1. We love you too!

Leave a Reply

