Making a Home

home maker

I saw the above definition on Pinterest and it really resonated with me.

For a while there, I was fine with the unfinished feel of our apartment.  I was partly discouraged by the higher prices (I could have gotten a floor to ceiling display cabinet in Missouri for what I paid for our dresser!) and the lack of options in Alaska.  So I told myself in two years and six months we’d move back home and I could really make our house a home.

But after a few weeks of reading and writing and no real projects to do, I realized, that’s a long time to live in our apartment…and be waiting for extra comfort and happiness!  And because I’ve newly decided this year is for living in the absolute present…I want to enjoy our present housing situation, instead of dreaming of everything I’d like to accomplish in two and a half years time (that might not actually ever happen).

I know some people who don’t care too much about their homes.  As long as there is furniture, they are happy. I’m not one of those people.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful for what we have.  But I want to create a home every place I live/spend time in.  When I was younger, it meant decorating my side of our Airstream camper with stickers.  In high school, it was creating elaborate schemes to decorate my locker.  In college I got to personalize my side of a dorm room as well as my own cubby for studio (which meant lots of photos, canvases and blankets).  I’ve always had that urge to put my mark on the spaces I used, no matter how big or small.  And with the prospect of moving onto base dwindling (we get more money if we stay in off-post housing), I’m dying to give our apartment some extra oomph.

Are you a home maker?  Tomorrow I’m sharing some of my ideas on easy fixes for a big impact in our space.

6 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Go for it !!!!!!! I’m sure it will be lovely!!!!!!

    1. I’m gonna try!

  2. As a freshman in college, my mom and I actually screwed a canopy frame into my cinder block wall and added raw silk curtains–sure, I was the really weird new kid on the block, but those curtains were a very real comfort and necessity to me during that first year away. Here’s to making a home, where ever you might be!

    1. Awww, that’s wonderful! I had no shame in decorating my dorm room; it was a slice of home.

  3. Couldn’t agree more! I have always made whatever space we lived in feel like home. I literally had my prized Shabby Chandelier hanging from a hook in our apartment. You just have to, even if it’s just a few little things.

    1. Your apartment was gorgeous too! Loved that you shared a flashback pic with us the other day/week.

Leave a Reply

