The Essentials | the Almost-Classic White Shirt

whiteblouse

I wear too much black.  Literally.  I don’t know how it happened.  I used to have less black than my sister, and that’s saying something!  I guess when I got off my Lilly kick, I went for anything black I could find, and now it’s all that I seem to wear.  As I type this, I’m sporting a black turtleneck with black leggings.  I’m craving to get out of this rut though, and I think the perfect white shirt may do the trick.

Now, the last white shirt I owned was from the men’s department of Gap.  For some reason, I thought it would be better than any women’s one I’d find (probably because of the longer length).  It wasn’t cute, but I wore it.  Looking back, I looked waay too androgynous and not in the cool-hipster sort of way.  I think it’s buried somewhere in my mom’s basement with all of my other fashion fails.

(Side note: do you say button-up or button-down when talking about this classic style shirt?  I say button-up.  I wonder what that says about me.)

Below are my top picks for the almost-classic white shirt.  Double pockets and lightweight fabric are common traits among the choices.  It was difficult finding white shirts made in America (without spending close to two hundred).  One hundred as an average price is not bad in my opinion, considering I’ve paid that much for China button-ups from J.Crew.  If you dig straight classic, this is the best option (aside from Brooks Brothers).  Do you have a go-to white shirt in your wardrobe?

white blouse roundup

| top image | james perse | bella dahl | splendid |

7 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I prefer the classic, no pockets.

    1. It would fit you best!

  2. I def need a classic white in my life! Love that you always find made in america.

    1. I hope you find my post useful! I do what I can to find USA-made =)

  3. I have more than a half dozen white shirts in my closet–and I’m wearing one today! Thicker oxfords for preppy days, a long gauzy top to pair with messy hair, and slim, simple ones for layering–I don’t know what I’d do without them all, and I’m always ordering new ones!

    I usually call my blouses button downs, but the term actually refers to a collar that buttons to the shirt–I just can’t break the habit!

    1. Oh my goodness, I learned something new! Thanks Lena =) I bet your collection can’t be beat.

  4. […] my post for today was posted yesterday (along with yesterday’s real post)!  So instead of leaving […]

Leave a Reply

