Collections

ironstone

There are so many things I regret not doing when I was in school in Kansas.  Going out more with friends, trying out all the local bistros and eateries…you know, the normal.  But one not so normal regret is never buying from the ceramics sale that would take place right in front my main building for one week each semester.  Beautiful handcrafted items crowded about five tables, and I saw at least three new things I loved every time I walked past.  I told myself, tomorrow…next semester…next year…and whoops, what do you know…I never returned.

After the dinner party, it is all the more apparent how much I need pretty serveware.  I used spare mixing bowls and served dinner out of the saute pan, (and while I know the men didn’t care) I felt like I could have taken it to a whole ‘nother level if I had some dishes to stage the food in.  Even the entree’s recipe called for it to be served on a warm platter…oi.

What I’m hoping to do is start an ongoing collection of french ironstone serveware.  Why go vintage?  Because it will be just as good, if not better quality and it’s much funner to browse flea markets, junk stores, and antique shops than clicking purchase on my laptop from a big retailer’s website.  And vintage would make me feel less guilty for never taking advantage of the handcrafted pieces at K-State.  I don’t know how great this hunt will go up here in AK, but I know of half a dozen places in Missouri that would be perfect for it.

I guess ironstone is popular in the collecting department; although there are so many Pinterest pictures of hutches and cabinets full to the brim, I’ve found very little left to look at on etsy.  It would appear that Dreamy Whites sells ironstone sometimes, so I’m going to stalk the shop for new pieces (that is, if I must resort to the internet).  Right now we simply do not have the cabinet space for tons of this stuff, but two or three pieces would easily get me by for future dinner parties.  This is one good thing about us not having a gift registry for the wedding…I didn’t even know about ironstone a year ago to ask for any!  It definitely fits in with my overall aesthetic, even though it is taking me a while to figure it all out!

The other thing I’m hoping to collect is vintage white napkins with monogrammed M’s.  How pretty would a linen basket look, overflowing with dainty white squares with pretty little details?  I purchased some for the dinner party, and even though the guys were too scared to use them, they elevated the simple table settings for photos.

Be sure to keep an eye on my new Pinterest board for more on this topic.  You can see all of the Dreamy Whites goodness here.  The sold items are especially fun to look through.

5 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I will help on your hunt!!!!!!!

  2. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    i love having something to search for!!

  3. Ooh, this is going to be a fun hunt! I love collections. I started my milk glass collection years ago. I keep some, I give some as gifts. It is a little tired in the blogging/wedding world, but I still love it. xo

  4. I’m such a sucker for great serve ware. It’s all in the details!

  5. Oh my goodness, you melted my heart with a collection of monogrammed napkins–Y E S!

Leave a Reply

