No Excuses, Just Explanations

noexcuses

After I created my February goals, something unexpected happened…Ethan told me he wanted to use up a chunk of his leave and go home.  And while I had such big ideas for February, I was all for taking twenty-two long and lovely days of vacation sans Alaska.  What does that have to do with my goals though?

My mom has a sewing machine, that’s what.  I finally tracked down the perfect pouf tutorial for Simon, and it requires a lot of sewing…easy peasy with a machine, total nightmare by hand.  And instead of taking a chance with buying material online, I’d rather mill around some fabric stores and find the perfect one (and not settle on one because it has free shipping or something, you know?).  So I’m putting that goal on hold.  Don’t worry, I have every intention of fulfilling it.  And I know it’s going to rock Simon’s world.

The other goal that isn’t quite going to happen is the art.  After browsing Etsy for what felt like two days straight, I realized, I hate buying art on command!  I rather like to go to galleries or shows instead, see something I love, and realize I need to make it mine.  Which turns out to be quite perfect, as Ethan, Simon and I will be home for First Fridays’ in April…perfect outing with the fam, don’t you think?  I know I think so.  I love supporting my hometown’s art scene.  Compared to other cities, I know, it is pretty whimpy.  But the Cape has some amazing artists, regardless.

January was such a cinch to complete goal-wise, that I feel a little down I have to put two of my four goals on hold.  It would really just make more sense for me to wait for the proper resources, though…and my mom is my favorite crafting companion hands-down.  I did however order an apron and throw that dinner party (if you missed it, check it out here).  Not too shabby.

Speaking of shabby, to take advantage of a first order coupon I had for my apron order, I threw these white pjs into my online shopping bag as well (before I knew Ethan bought me my anchor set).  This filmy white set is dreamy soft and will be perfect for summer nights.  I also tracked down a copy of Interiors on eBay and have been gobbling it up all weekend long.  Because my apron had a production wait of about four weeks, I’ll finally be receiving it in the mail!  So.excited.

Tune in on Thursday for my goals for March!  Can you even believe it’s March now?  I cannot.

6 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I can’t wait till you are home to do crafts!!!!!!

  2. Yay! You bought Interiors! What do you think?

    1. OMG, I love it! I can’t believe it got such rotten reviews! I’m so glad you spoke up =)

  3. how lovely that you’ll have a nice long vacay! I hope you make the pouf for Simon – I’m dying to see how it turns out.

    1. I am, I am! Seeing him lay on the floor while I cook is just too much to bear! He needs a handsome pouf for his lounging =)

Leave a Reply

