Finding My Voice and Facing My Fears

fears

Hello.  I feel like I’ve been a little absent from the blog, that my voice may not be coming through as much as I’d like it to.  Do you feel that way?  I think the amount of time I am devoting to writing lately is to blame.  I’m going to work on it though.  If you can believe it, there is a downside to pouring so much of myself into my book in progress.  It seems the more words I crank out, the more self-conscious I get about my writing.  Multiple times while sitting in front of my word processor the question am I any good at this? flashes through my mind.  And it’s terrifying!  It doesn’t help that I’ve read the statistics on how very few manuscripts actually get published, and then the even smaller number of those published books that become popular.  But I’m chugging away regardless.

I’ve found it helpful to focus on little things that remind me that what I’m doing isn’t totally crazy.  I think about getting the major award of a Pizza Inn gift certificate for my Thanksgiving-themed short story in kindergarten.  I envision my second grade victory of “Most Expressive Book Share,” which I worked extremely hard for.  I remember how much I loved creative writing in grade school and critical thinking essays in high school.  With even a short list of related accomplishments, I find the strength to keep writing.

I’ve officially written over 50,000 words since I started this past summer.  And I’m not done yet.

What do you do when your fears are staring you in the face?

4 comments

  1. Dana, just sitting down and writing your book is an achievement in itself, you are following your dream to be a writer. Keep it up!

    1. Thanks so much, Angie =)

  2. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Dana, you never cease to amaze me with your writing talent, you have such a gift!!!

    1. Thank you! I’m so thankful you have the patience to read and discuss it with me, week after week =)

Leave a Reply

