Taking Flight

takingflight

At an odd point in my life, I considered being a flight attendant.  In that place in time, I’d only flown once (to Ireland) and had too strong of an attachment to the movie Elizabethtown.  I thought the life of a flight attendant would be much better for me than a career as an architect.  Oops, I guess my life had other plans.

Thank goodness though.  After frequently flying to Arizona to visit my sister in pharmacy school and now these arduous flights from Alaska and back,  I know pursuing a career as a flight attendant would have been disastrous for me.  I guess the Capricorn in me prefers my size ten feet firmly planted to the ground… rather than soaring in a crowded cabin filled with screaming children and unflattering body odor.

Compared to our flight back at Christmas, Saturday’s travels were incredibly smooth.  During booking, my subconscious signed me up for window seats both flights, and Ethan didn’t care enough to make me switch him.  I read the entire length to Seattle and slept the entire length to Anchorage.  I was even able to catch a few winks of sleep in our layover, thanks to a not-so crowded terminal and Ethan’s right thigh.  Simon did wonderfully in his little carrier, and Ethan and I partook in PB&J’s compliments of my mom and some super fresh Cheetos.  We rolled up to our apartment around three a.m. Sunday and we all crawled into bed rather greedily.  After all, what else is there to do after unloading our baggage and walking around our seemingly empty (but impeccably clean) place at an ungodly hour of the morning?  Nothing, in my opinion.  More on the “empty” later this week…or maybe next week.  I haven’t decided yet.

I woke up (later) Sunday morning after just four hours of snoozing.  After a chat with my mom, Simon and I drove down the road for a drive-through McRomance breakfast.  Ethan woke up to eat with me once I returned, and we separated to do as we wished: for him it was playing that darned Call of Duty game and for me, unpacking/dancing to my sister’s newest mix cd.

You may be wondering what Alaska looks like at the end of April.  Let me preface this by saying it was 75-80 degrees back home.  We left the sunshine and green grass and the prettiest flowers of Missouri for one gigantic slush pile.  I’m not kidding, it is disgusting here.  Yes, the mountains are still beautifully snow-capped, but if you look down, it all goes to hell.  There are some patches of grass amongst the gray snow/ice, but its a saturated mess of mud and doggie doo.  Not so friendly for a little white pup.  The forecast for the coming week is still calling for snow, or snow showers, so winter is not over here.  Much to my dismay.  June and July cannot come soon enough!  It’s hard for me to believe I actually tried tanning when I was home.  We all will go back to pale in no time with this abundance of overcast skies.

Thanks for all your sweet words on the changes to the site.  I was contemplating even larger changes (as I rambled about in an earlier post), but after some research about publishing, I decided a free facelift was the best route for me to take.  You may notice some tweaks here and there, but overall, I am in love with this cleaner, fresher design.  Kinda proud that I gathered enough courage to face my CSS code all by my lonesome.

I hope you have a glorious Monday!  I will be editing/revising my manuscript and playing with Simon all day long.  Nothing like getting back into routine after a three-week vacation.

9 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    The past three weeks went by all too quickly!!!!!!!

    1. Don’t I know it. Is it too soon to count down to July??

  2. You have a such a beautiful blog!

    Kristin

    1. That’s so sweet of you to say =)

  3. the travels sound horrid dear. the weather is horrid here, so i feel your pain. snow again in april. your revels on elizabethtown and flight attending careers brought a smile to my face. xo

    1. Nine plus hours is always a rough ride, even if the sky is clear. I’d like to see how Colorado does snow some day =)

      1. i’d love to have your company on a snow day. only the best of times i’m certain, we’d have.

  4. well any day really! its been far too long danadoo.

    1. I know it has been =(

Leave a Reply

