The Sweetest Thing

thesweetestthingEthan played a game with me around the time of our first anniversary.  He knows I hate when I know a surprise is coming, but he can’t keep a secret when he’s bought something for me/us.  So he likes to have me ask questions about what it might be, seeing if I can guess or come close.  Usually I am spot on, and he has to lie so the surprise isn’t ruined.  This is obviously grueling for me, as I am extremely picky when it comes to presents.  Anyway, everyday after the 15th he gave me two clues and I would list all the ideas I had pertaining to them.  Sound fun?  Haha, some days it was fun…once he started running out of clues though, I was mentally exhausted from trying to figure it out.  These are the clues I can remember.

It’s something we did when we were dating.

Outside.

Before he left for boot camp.

It’s made out of a tree.

I ran through every date in my head, and I thought for sure that it was going to end up being one of my guesses, but I was way wrong.  For our first anniversary, Ethan bought me a tree swing.

The date he was referring to was a sunny day in May.  I told him I wanted to go on a picnic, but that I wanted to plan it myself and I’d pick him up.  In my preparations, I found my family’s old basket with some lovely painted apples on it, made PB&Js, bought Krunchers chips and soda in fun bottles.  Doesn’t that sound like perfection already?  We took our blankets to North Cape County park and set up our first picnic lunch together.  It was quite windy that day, now that I think about it.  Much too windy for the game of frisbee we had after eating and swinging on the kiddie set we were picnicing near.  Right before my hips were too tired to swing anymore, Ethan hoisted me in mid-air so I could take this photo of my moccasins (for my then, more anonymous blog).

picnicdate

I cannot even begin to tell you how touched I am at this gift.  I definitely had tears welling in my eyes and kissed him a million times.  We will have to store it until we move back home and buy a house with a big ole tree, but I am very okay with that.  This is the sweetest thing he could have given me, and I love him so much for it.

13 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    What a very romantical anniversary present!!!!!!!!!

    1. Isn’t it though? I think it will be perfect for those photos we talked about (when we buy our home)!

      1. Mary Ellen · ·

        Definetly!!!!!!

  2. That boy of mine 🙂

    1. He continues to amaze me.

  3. how precious!

  4. What an impossibly sweet and thoughtful gift!

    1. I think so as well!

  5. Aww. That is so thoughtful and sweet. I love it!! So charming. xo

    1. Perfect for a Missouri/rural life. hehe

  6. I’m the worst at keeping gifts a surprise. I always get way too excited and basically give away what the gift is. This is so sweet!

    1. How funny! I always tell my husband that if he just doesn’t bring it up, it’ll be a REAL surprise! So silly. Thanks for commenting =)

Leave a Reply

