Date Night & Eating Sushi Makes Me Feel Like Molly Ringwald

datenight1Friday was pretty great.  I got my new glasses, dressed up and Ethan and I went out for dinner and Gatsby.  I had been planning it for weeks, and the days leading up to it I could hardly contain myself.  I spent the afternoon mulling over my closet and I came up with this crazy gorgeous combo from RL Denim & Supply, though I decided against the boots at the last minute.  For dinner, we gorged ourselves at Ronnie 2, an amazing sushi place Ethan loooves.

datenight2datenight3datenight4datenight5

Ethan feasted on the lobster roll while I nibbled my way through the Bento Box…which Ethan helped me finish.  We were served this muffin-like dessert free of charge, and we felt pretty special about it.  Then we were off to the theater for some Baz Luhrmann goodness.  I don’t see how anyone could have not liked the movie, granted most remakes and movies-from-novels are lessened somehow for the public, but The Great Gatsby still rocked my socks off.  Leo was perfection, Carey was sublime, and Tobey wasn’t half bad either.  The music, the party scenes, the flowers and the overall interpretation was magnificent.  By the end I just wanted to bawl my eyes out.  Super excellent indeed, and I think I will be getting my hands on a copy of Romeo + Juliet for good measure sometime this week.

datenight6

Lastly, it was military spouse appreciation night and I got a flower when they ripped our ticket stubs.  I was so touched!!  I took this photo after the movie.  At 10:30.  Check how bright that sky is.  Craziness.  So tell me, did you see The Great Gatsby?  Did you prefer Leo to the original Jay played by Robert Redford?  Does eating sushi make you feel at all like Molly Ringwald in The Breakfast Club?  I know it does for me!  And I quite enjoy it.  Have a lovely Monday!

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Looks yummy!!!!! Glad you had a fabulous date night!!!!!!!

    1. It was! Definitely one of my favorite date nights up here.

  2. I have never eaten sushi, even though my good friend Aimee is always trying to get me to, I just always think about parasitic stomach issues (sorry)!! I REALLY want to see Gatsby though!

    1. Wahaha, that’s so funny. I understand…that’s why I always stick to hotdogs when friends are grilling hehe. Let me know what you think if you go see it!

  3. I didn’t get to see it this weekend!! I know… I have been waiting and planning, but it didn’t happen. I am soo looking forward to it, though. What a fun night! xo

    1. Aww bummer! Let me know what you think. I think Leo has just gotten finer with age 😉

  4. Oh my goodness! My mouth is watering! That sushi looks so good!

    1. Some of the best I’ve ever had! Is sushi off limits when you are pregnant??

  5. Sounds like a perfect night 🙂 We saw The Great Gatsby on Sunday, and I thought it was fantastic! Leo is the perfect Gatsby, and I love pretty much all of Baz Luhrmann’s movies! That sushi looks freaking awesome as well.

    1. Good girl! I love Baz’s stuff so much…maybe my favorite is Romeo + Juliet just because of how serious it is…and yes to Leo! You’ve got good taste 😉

Leave a Reply

