Tackling the Issue of Kitchen Storage

kitchenstorage5It’s no surprise that apartments can have inadequate storage.  And our rental is a glaring example of that in every room, but most noticeably the kitchen.  We have more lower cabinets than upper, but believe me when I say, it is not enough storage for our cups, plates, cans of food, medicine, cleaning supplies, spices and other baking supplies.  I tried to remedy the situation by using our dishwasher as storage (I hand wash everything so it’s just wasted space for us) and it works fine up until a certain point…but we exceeded that point quickly.  I knew it was time for a real solution.

kitchenstorage1kitchenstorage2It would have been easiest to slap some floating shelves in this spot and call it a day…but our walls are super weak and our landlord wouldn’t be too thrilled with the large holes necessary to anchor something like that into the studs.  But these boxes are perfect!  I found them this weekend in Palmer at Cover Ups by chance.  At fifteen bucks each, I thought they were an absolute steal… I even love how they are half painted, half not.  Imagine my surprise when I brought them home and found they fit perfectly side-by-side on our countertop.  I didn’t take too much time styling them, just placed a sheet of vintage wallpaper (bought here) on the bottom of each so I could stack my glasses there without worry.  I didn’t even stick it down; who knows how I’ll use these babies in our next place!

kitchenstorage3

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Sweet!!!! Can’ t wait to see it “in person”!!!!!

    1. I can’t wait for that either!!! (I also can’t wait to add an Alaska shot glass and mug to my collection hehe)

  2. Love this idea. Floating shelves are cute, but it’s nice to see something with a little more character, too!

    1. Thanks! They are easy, and I love ’em!

  3. omg. i will no longer complain about my kitchen. apartment/condo living isn’t always the berries. you should see my cabinets….stuff literally falls out when i open some doors. i even started keeping wedding gifts in their boxes because they stack/store better than they would out of them. sheesh. one day we’ll have a big ole kitchen; until then, i’ll keep dreaming along with ya 😉

    1. It’s frustrating isn’t it? You can’t imagine how much space these boxes freed up for us. And I don’t mind seeing my pretty glassware out in the open!
      PS. Can’t wait for that day…I have house fever baaad.

  4. Thank you so much for this wonderful blog post! Teresa Roy has a saying (to the artists at her shop): “we should inspire creativity when CU is visited”. You and the Palmer Visitor’s Center are both utilizing these. P.S. We found them locally, a nice elderly gentlemen had built them, used them, and sold them to us. Thanks again, please introduce yourself (again) next time you visit us.
    Kim, on behalf of CU and affiliates.

    1. That’s such a wonderful history…thank you for sharing! I appreciate you taking the time to comment, and I will certainly say hello next time I’m in. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

