Stocking Cards

stocking cardsHello there!  Just thought I’d show you the designs I’m working on for our future needlepoint stockings.  I’m really excited.  So I can’t take credit for anything in these designs…I’m taking the inspired works from the opening credits of The Family Stone as my inspiration.  And since they are just for my family, I’m saying it doesn’t matter.  If you remember the film, the credits are displayed through intricately illustrated Christmas cards, and I took photos of each card to work from.  Here are two stockings (Ethan’s and mine) that are ready for paint!  I tried cutting and pasting in Photoshop but realized it would actually be easier to draw them out by hand.  Imagine that!  Obviously after I paint these I have the larger task of finding the threads and canvas and really begin to make them.  But before I get ahead of myself, I am drawing up the designs for my sister and her fiancé and my mom and dad as well (maybe extra for distant future babies?)…I’m trying to keep the continuity in the designs by doing all the same stages as the same time.

And I kind of gave up on the Monet needlepoint.  It was much more intense than I originally thought.  Also, I decided I really just wanted to work on something with the holiday spirit, so that’s that.  The snow has found us once again, and there is nothing I want more than to work on these holiday stocking designs.  what do you think so far?  Happy Friday!

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Wow!!!!!!!

    1. =) get excited!! But not too excited, it’ll be a while hehe

  2. so detailed Dana! I love the one with the birds & branches!

    1. Thanks! So does Ethan and my mom =) It would appear we all have the same taste in stocking designs.

  3. Very pretty 🙂

  4. caseylane · · Reply

    you are so talented…those cards are just as pretty as the needlepoint will be! you should make prints of them and frame or make actual cards (etsy store idea?)

    1. Yes, I was considering that…probably not since I took them almost entirely from another artist’s work. Maybe just for myself? I have a feeling they will look quite lovely painted =)

  5. […] on.  Painting a picture similar to “The Kiss” for Amanda and her fiancé, painting the stocking cards I drew up last week, and making a few December birthday cards.  I have managed to write almost […]

  6. […] week I am hopefully going to crank out painting my needlepoint canvas for my Christmas stocking project.  This one will determine whether the whole thing is feasible or not.  I’m hoping it goes […]

Leave a Reply

