Signing Out for the Holiday

signingoutWell friends, dare I say this Christmas season has absolutely flown by?  I can’t imagine I’ve lived through a faster December, and yet here we are, two days until Christmas and eggnog and presents!  I’m looking forward to having Ethan all to myself this holiday, as we plan to stay in and start a new little tradition that I think will be just grand.  Aside from that, I know I’ll be eating up The Prisoner of Azkaban…my mom recently mailed me the first three books in the Harry Potter series, and I’ve whizzed straight through them.  I was really hoping they’d last me until January sixth, but it doesn’t look like I have the willpower to make them last that long!  I’m considering stopping in B&N before New Year’s for something to hold me during the lull.  I’ll give you a hint…it will be a perfect companion to my favorite NYE movie When Harry Met Sally.

This year, good ol 2013 has been a bit of a roller coaster.  It started off slowly, with us shopping for a new car after Ethan’s past December wreck…but it also meant I acquired the ability to go driving by myself when said new car happened to be automatic!  We also had a new schedule on our hands when Ethan was chosen to do taxes for the army…I didn’t like his longer hours…but our Thursday mornings together were nice for going out to breakfast (like on Valentine’s Day!).  In March we celebrated our first anniversary, and in April we got a break from Alaska with a wonderful trip to Missouri.  In May the biggest change in my life was that I took the next step with my writing career and submitted my queries to literary agencies…which I’m still getting rejections from sadly.  Since then I am happy to say I have written one more book, with another in the works.  I’m not going to give up!  June we got social with outings to festivals and First Fridays, leading into July when my wonderful sister and mom came to visit!  And then of course the dreaded month of August that I still can’t believe we both survived.  Ethan’s surgery still sends my head spinning simply because it was such a big deal.  I know it made our relationship even stronger though, even if it didn’t particularly fix Ethan’s breathing.

It is amazing to me that next year is only two weeks away!  2014 will hold so many important life events…our fast approaching trip home in January, our second anniversary in March, my sister’s wedding in May!  This crazy thing called life just keeps going full speed ahead, doesn’t it?

Thank you so much for your readership, your continued support for my endeavors, and your friendship to me through this here little blog.  I hope 2013 has blessed you with health and happiness, and that 2014 will bless you even more so.

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Can’t wait to give you a big hug!!!!!!!!

    1. I can’t wait either!

  2. Love you three…can’t wait to see you all!

    1. We love you too!

  3. Thank you for taking the time to write this blog….I enjoy reading it and hearing about your adventures in AK!! Merry Christmas to the 3 of you!!

    1. Thank you for your Christmas card, Jayne!

  4. Merry Christmas Dana! Wishing you, Ethan, and Simon lots of love these next few days. Keep warm out there in Alaska!

    1. Thank you! Merry Christmas to you and yours as well, Kristen =)

  5. I can’t wait to see you all, I’m counting the days as well, See you soon! Your blog is awesome and keeps me informed as you know my son is horrible about returning calls or texts,Love you all Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!!

    1. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, Sonya!

Leave a Reply

