The Melt

meltThe temps have been warm considering it is midwinter here in Alaska.  So warm that the icicles are dripping and I don’t need a coat when I take Simon boy out.  I can’t tell you how nice that is.  Though the forecast calls for snow all weekend, not a flake has fallen.  Fine by me!  It does seem for our big leave that cold weather will be waiting for us when we touch down in St. Louis next week.  But then we will have more reasons to sit by the blazing fire in my childhood home and enjoy the coziness I seemed to miss out on during the holidays.

New Years was quiet for us, as we stayed in and channel-surfed in our pajamas until 11:45 pm.  We even painted for a little bit until Ethan decided he was bored.  I caught a few episodes of The Twilight Zone I’d never seen before, believe it or not.  We smooched at the stroke of twelve and enjoyed a few fireworks our neighbors were blowing off.  Since then Ethan has worked only a half of a day; come February we will be hurting trying to get back into the swing of things!  As for this weekend I am running some errands with Simon, finishing packing (and helping Ethan start!), and tuning into Downton Abbey.  I know it will just fly by before we fly out at five a.m. Monday!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

4 comments

  1. Happy weekend Dana!

    1. Happy weekend!!! It flew by, didn’t it??

  2. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Can’t wait to see you!!!!!!

    1. I’ll see you tomorrow!!!!

Leave a Reply

