From the Heart

fromtheheart

| recycled Anthropologie packaging inspired February’s cards, all made from the heart |

How we are already full-steam ahead for Valentine’s day and the halfway point of February, I have no clue.  Hello my friends.  It was a blustery and frigidly cold weekend here in Alaska, but the weather didn’t keep Ethan and I from going out on Friday for a bit of pool and beer.  We picked up a friend from base and maneuvered our way into the periphery of downtown Anchorage.  After filling up on french fries, popcorn shrimp and chicken at the sports bar of our friend’s choice, we left our seats at the counter for a cozier corner near the pool tables.  With the opening ceremony of the Winter Olympics as background entertainment, we played game after game of pool until more friends joined us around nine.  I am happy to report I won two games all by myself, which had never happened prior!  Though I graduated high school as a student of Calculus, Geometry was never my strong suit…good thing I’m getting the hang of all the infinite angles, possible bank shots, and rules of the game Ethan can play for hours!  We’ve since discussed getting a table for our future home, and I think I could enjoy racking up the balls a few days every week.

Saturday I woke up early for a morning I thought would be spent “walking through” a potential future house back home.  But unfortunately technology was not on my side, and I sat contemplating all the house’s nooks and crannies my parents’ were experiencing first hand.  Further adding to my dismay, they later told me it needed too much work for the listed price, and I wanted to cry I felt so defeated.  The thing I’ve been wanting most for all my life is still outside my grasp, and it’s tedious having my dreams ripped from me again and again.  No matter, I cheered up in the evening when Simon told Ethan he wanted pizza for dinner, and the three of us snuggled on the couch for a billionth viewing of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  I kept my early bedtime by crawling under the blankets by 9:30 and slept soundly until seven the following morning!

Sunday I pulled out my fair isle sweater coat and was pleasantly surprised at how warm it kept me as Ethan and I trekked from the farthest parking spot of the grocery store to get a little shopping done.  After putting our week’s worth of goodies away, I sat down to brainstorm my sister’s bachelorette party, which will be more like a classy bridal shower without the presents.  I’m still ironing out the details and would love your suggestions on pretty & affordable invitations sans lingerie illustrations.  I played around in Photoshop for a bit, but my short attention span got the better of me.  My hardback copy of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire kept my brain occupied until the premiere of The Walking Dead.  Considering I dreamt of a zombie farm Friday night, its safe to say I was excited for its return.

What did your weekend look like?  Do you have any exciting plans for the coming week?  Lucky me, Ethan has a four day weekend for Valentine’s Day President’s Day.  I’m looking forward to working another item off my list with him on Friday.

2 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Beautiful!!!!!!!!

    1. Glad you liked yours, Mama =)

Leave a Reply

