Amanda’s Bachelorette Party

bachelorette1| bachelorette sash painted with Martha Stewart paint and stencil |

A group of about twenty-five ladies attended our nontraditional bachelorette party Saturday, and I must admit, it was much more successful than I could have hoped for.

While I love my hometown, I will say it’s biggest fault is the lack of stylish venues for important events.  I still thank my lucky stars that the local golfing club hosted my and Ethan’s wedding reception, and I knew it was absolutely crucial not to compromise style and functionality for Amanda’s party.  After exhausting Southeast Missouri resources I found a charmingly sophisticated vacation rental with two bedrooms, classy furnishings and plenty of room for the extra seating we planned to bring.  I had to trust my mom and sister’s word that it would do and only saw the place I picked the day we began to decorate.  Believe me when I say, it was the best.

bachelorette9

bachelorette5The loveliest part about the vacation rental was its location.  Nestled on a hill with a view of historic downtown, I felt transported to someplace chic and so not SEMO.  We utilized the antiques provided, such as this vignette for our “Words of Wisdom” book, and even added our own into the mix.  Grand art adored the walls and unfussy stained concrete floors kept the space feeling as urban as Missouri can get.  I wish I could take credit for it all!

bachelorette2

bachelorette12

My mom has various antique collections, one of them being crocks.   I knew before anything else was really planned that I wanted to use them.  The different heights and sizes worked well in different locations around the rental, and instead of using earth unfriendly green foam, we folded pieces of green cage (common for outdoor projects) into the bases to arrange the tulips easily.

bachelorette3

bachelorette8We had quite a spread and took the time to think about the details.  My mom pulled out her punch bowls, and we thrifted for matching cups to match our party’s guest list.  The expansive island served as our hors d’oeuvres display, including the stacked cake stands for bite-size desserts and marble and slate platters for specialty cheese, meat, and crackers.  Extra large cookies individually wrapped became the right amount of sweetness to pop into purses for later.  For dinner we served sandwiches from my sister’s favorite restaurant, steak and chicken kabobs, pasta salad shaped like bicycles, and roasted vegetables.  A corner of the kitchen became the designated wine station where guests could casually taste test.

bachelorette6

bachelorette11

Because my sister is a professional in her late twenties, I didn’t want anything at the bachelorette party that would take away from her exciting engagement or make any of the older guests uncomfortable (read: no strippers or penis paraphernalia).  But because women naturally want to gift each other lingerie for whatever reason, we opted for an undie guessing game.  It was quite difficult for Amanda, but also really fun to hear the stories behind each pair of gifted panties. Afterward I played caller for our very own bridal bingo…this party was the reason I created it in the first place!

bachelorette10

bachelorette7I made lavender satchels as takeaways for our guests and placed them near the door in a coordinating crock.  By the end of the party, most guests didn’t want to leave!  Everyone agreed it was a unique way to experience our downtown.  Just look at the view of the Bill Emerson Memorial Bridge from the back deck!

Come back tomorrow for product links from the party.

P.S.  16. plan and successfully execute my sister’s bachelorette party

4 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Woohoo!!!! You put so much time and energy into the planning of this party and it definitely paid off!!!!!

    1. I’m so glad you think so!!

  2. Looks like such a great time! I love the lingerie guessing game. So fun!

    1. Thanks, Kristen! I was leery about it at first, but it worked out so well. It helps that her friends were so creative!

Leave a Reply

