Something Sweet

somethingsweetMy my, it is June!  Isn’t that something?  I admit that May really got away from me, and I’m brainstorming ways to hang on to upcoming months so that it doesn’t happen to me again.

After a lonely Friday night spent with a lazy Simon and napping Ethan, I woke up to a dreadfully gloomy Saturday with a list of to-dos as long as my thumb.  Though I didn’t feel completely satisfied as I usually do upon completing such tasks, I returned to our apartment slightly damp and decidedly tired.  I could have crawled back into bed with my new book and dozed while the rain sloshed in the gutters just outside our window, but Ethan wished to take me out to lunch so I didn’t refuse.  We went to our favorite, Paris Cafe, where we ate our sandwiches greedily and occasionally swirled our french fries in ketchup.  With a sweet pink box of take home treats, we returned to Simon who felt entirely neglected he wasn’t included in the car-ride to Muldoon.  After some lovings we splintered into our own activities, me searching for more attainable velvets for my parent’s redesign while Ethan and my brother-in-law matched up for some PS4 gaming.  I chatted intermittently with my sister and mom, both of whom sounded too good for words, and I alternated dreaming of home and blogging until I decided it was time to hit the hay.

Sunday morning we woke up early to see the first showing of Maleficent.  Predicting a large turnout, we arrived at the theater so early that the doors weren’t even unlocked!  No matter, we hopped out of the drizzle and into the car for some quick breakfast sandwiches nearby and returned to a good-sized line at the ticket box and zero lines at the concession stand.  We enjoyed the movie, though it was nearly packed inside the darkened theater.  Jolie’s performance managed to pull a few tears from my eyes; I would highly recommend seeing the film if you haven’t already.  After some high speed grocery shopping, we returned for the day to our place and busied ourselves as we normally do.  I don’t know where it originated, but I am newly seeking a versatile and transitional summer shoe.  Surprise, surprise!

What were you up to this weekend?

Did it rain where you are?  Or were you lucky enough to soak up some sun?

One comment

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Yummy!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

