The Great American House

tgah1Hello!  How is your Monday turning out?  Sorry about the late post today.  This weekend I was overwhelmed with thoughts of our future forever home.  No surprise there!  I blame the lack of character homes on the market right now for my shifting back to dreaming about building.  I’ve been thinking about the balance of space and quality and how I could possibly achieve the details I love so much in a home that’s small in scale.  I suppose small is the wrong word…not grand is more fitting.  And although all the homes featured in Gil Schafer’s book The Great American House are thousands of square feet on hundred acre plots, the elements presented in it could easily translate to a petite vision of class and elegance.

The excerpt above really resonates with me.  If we do decide to build, I want the floors to feel as though they are one hundred years old.  I want the little gaps between each plank and a soft worn finish with little to no shine.  Wouldn’t that be just lovely?

tgah2I’m thinking of a build project in terms of the details.  What could make a new construction feel much older?  The obvious elements like thick moldings, a traditional staircase (with salvaged wood hand railing and balusters), a classical fireplace mantel, and bathrooms that feel more like rooms than the utilitarian spaces they are.  Not every inch of the house would have to be reclaimed or restored or salvaged, mind you, but in the right era stylistically.  What areas do you think are worthy of splurging and which are easier to save in?

That’s something we’d have to figure out down the road, especially when considering the lot to build on!

tgah3

tgah4all photos taken from my copy of The Great American House

2 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

