Investment Piece

investmentpiece1Do you ever go back and forth on a piece of clothing, unable to decide if you want to splurge on it or not?  I can’t tell you how much I stared at this Emerson Fry turtleneck sweater, only to realize when it was sold out that I really and truly wanted it.  Of course, the price tag is what held me up; coming to just under five hundred dollars seemed outrageous!  But since needing a huge cozy layer for these chilly August days, I’ve found that EF was right on target, with being made in America the ultimate perk.

investmentpiece2I’ve since found some comparable alternatives, two of which sport that cable knit aspect I love, but the costs are still giving me sticker shock.  I’m considering some future consignment shop visits, or else, if I’m lucky, the Big Knit will appear on the Emerson Fry Outlet this fall.

Have you seen any dark & chunky turtleneck sweaters that are more reasonably priced?

| Banjo and Matilda | La Garçonne | 525 America |

| top images via |

4 comments

  1. I remember eyeing that same black turtleneck from Emerson Fry and I also couldn’t seem to wrap my head around the price. I hate that moment when a piece becomes sold out and the change of buying it goes out the window. The first one looks like a good alternative..but that is always hard because you will always wish that you just had the original one you loved. Oh sopping problems 😉
    xo Nan
    Simply Elegant Blog

    1. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one weary about dropping that much cash on a sweater! Even if I do sort of regret it a little bit now…hehe.

  2. How am I only just now hearing about the Emerson Fry outlet?!

    1. I don’t think anyone talks about it because it is just so good! Apparently in “fall” it will open again. I signed up to be notified =)

Leave a Reply

