The Snowy Bird Stocking

snowybirdstocking1Hi!  This week I have divided my time between adding content to my latest finished novel (which from now on I’ll refer to as FZ) and this lovely stocking.  I don’t know if the blank canvas made a difference or finishing my first stocking had an impact on me, but this one feels really good and clean.  All of my thread decisions have worked out and I haven’t had to backtrack.  It makes me want to eventually redo mine since I feel this one is lightyears ahead of it!  What do you think?  Do you dig these little chickadees?

snowybirdstocking2

snowybirdstocking3There was absolutely no sunlight yesterday when I took these pics, so I apologize if they feel dark/artificial.  I started the evergreen needles last night and hope to pick up some charcoal gray tomorrow for the rest of the feathers.  After that, I’m tackling the night sky and then the background.  Isn’t Ethan’s nontraditional color choice interesting?  I’m looking forward to seeing it my mom’s blue palette too.

I’ve found movies are good companions to this craft, though I’m not entirely sure why.  Last Friday I cranked out all the branches and most of the snow to The Nun’s Story on TCM.  When I told my sister that, I realized how grandmotherly I sounded!  I’m enjoying it though, so I guess that’s all that counts?

I’m hoping I can finish this baby by the end of September.  Wouldn’t that be something?

6 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Beautiful!!!

    1. Yay! Glad you like it.

  2. How gorgeous! The color is so unique.

    1. Thanks Lena =)

  3. I just finished my latest needlepoint project the other day and picked up a set of coasters to work on next.
    This stocking is beautiful, good luck with it!
    xo Nan – Simply Elegant Blog

    1. How fun! I hope to expand my needlepoint ventures to products other than stockings sometime. What did you create?

Leave a Reply

