Coming Home

cominghomeSome of you may be wondering, why haven’t we heard about Dana going on leave yet?  No tweets or status updates about being Missouri-bound?  Let me enlighten you.  Halfway through August, we found out we could be home for good much sooner than we ever realized, even though it would compromise our approaching vacation.

It was bittersweet, saying goodbye to the plans we already had made (so long, SEMO District Fair!) even though we knew we would come home months and months early.  While we thought we would get out of the army next spring, the date was fast-tracked to the first week of this October (three weeks from tomorrow) !!  Turns out, we have already lived through our last Alaskan winter, our last Thanksgiving away from family, not to mention our last isolated Halloween without any trick-or-treaters!  We are all in disbelief, but I’m telling you guys, it.is.happening for real.

I am bouncing off the walls excited and already submitted our thirty day notice to vacate our apartment.  Though we don’t have a house (I wouldn’t mind finding a beauty like this ^ ) or jobs lined up or…you know, the basics…I’m hoping/crossing my fingers that everything will fall into place when we land in STL for the last time.

For now we are trying to enjoy the last little bits of Alaska that we love…which, I’m not going to lie, are mostly restaurants.  To not have to FaceTime my mom everyday, but instead get to see her and my dad– that will be so so wonderful.  It’s going to be a big move, but certainly worth it.  Ethan and I are starting a new chapter together, and I think it will be pretty amazing.

Wish us luck as the days wind down!

| image via |

10 comments

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    I am sooooooo excited!!!!!

  2. What an exciting change!

    1. We couldn’t be more thrilled!

  3. Oh my goodness, what incredible news! I can’t imagine how excited you guys must be!

    1. Its a fizzy feeling to know how soon we will be home!

  4. Wow!! That is awesome news….I am so happy for you!!

  5. So glad for you dear!

Leave a Reply

