Thoughts for the Season

thoughtsfortheseasonHappy December!!  Wow, I can’t believe I just typed that.  How was your holiday?  And how did 2014 go by so fast?  Granted, it has been a very busy year.  Between turning 25, planning Amanda’s wedding and moving back to Missouri, I’m looking forward to a 2015 full of creature comforts and nesting.  And heck, I’d like my December to be that way as well.

Unofficially, we are holding off on the house hunt and working toward saving like crazy.  Though I wanted to find our new home wham-bam, it hadn’t turned out to be the friendliest real estate market in these parts.  So we are going to be taking full advantage of renting Amanda’s house from here on out.  At the most we will have until mid-2017, when my sister and brother-in-law return from Memphis.  It doesn’t feel ideal right now, but I’m sure when we can comfortably afford our dream home I’ll think otherwise.  Creating a home out of her place will be my latest project, as we will soon be moving all our boxes in…like any normal renters would.  Also on the list is decorating for Christmas, train set and all.  While we may be taking the more practical route in all of this, I am still going to be searching for furniture and antiques and things that make me happy, to make her house feel more like ours.

This Thanksgiving was our first as a couple spending the holiday with our families.  Our first year of dating, Ethan was away with Army duties and every Thanksgiving after that was in Alaska.  Until now!  It was hectic with three days of activities (with two stops on Thursday), but it was refreshing to finally spend turkey day with people we have history with.  I even squeezed in some girl time with my favorite ladies, a rarity these days.  Though I felt a little overwhelmed with working retail amidst it all, it felt better being busy than twiddling my thumbs in isolating Alaska.

A huge change since living up north, Ethan and I haven’t been to the movies together since moving home.  We used to go a ton, then trickled out to maybe a movie a month.  But now?  We haven’t really been overly eager to get out to the theater.  Even with Mockingjay and Interstellar.  But I’m sure we will make an exception for The Hobbit.  What we have watched though and loved immensely was The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, which we found on tv.  So charming and surprising.  I had already liked the soundtrack, but I don’t think I stopped smiling the entire film’s length.

And lastly, before I bore you to death, I can’t tell you how nice it was to pull out my camera for the photo above.  It feels like I’ve been guilty of LBS (lazy blogger syndrome) by relying on my iPhone for so much.  Which is fun, don’t get me wrong.  But shooting with my real camera is just plain gratifying.

Stay tuned this week for my latest furniture finds and my B&N best book picks for the holidays.

2 comments

  1. Caseylane · · Reply

    Such a joy to see your face MWAHHHH

    1. Such a joy to see yours!!!

Leave a Reply

