For Mama On Her Birthday

for mamaI’m a big baby when it comes to my mama.  And spending her birthday away from her is just about the worst.  In honor of her special day, I’m going share some things I love about her.

My mama is selfless.  She is kind.  Sometimes she is feisty.  My mama loves to spend every minute outside, playing in the dirt, pulling weeds, planting flowers, and taking walks.  She humors my whims.  She worked long, hard hours to put my sister and me through private school, and then again through college.  She let me blame her when I told my friends I couldn’t stay the night, when I really just wanted her to tuck me into bed.  My mama taught us the importance of never giving in to pressure.  She cooked family dinner every night, and we ate together every night.  Seeing my mama cry makes me cry.  She read to me under our willow tree on spring afternoons.  My mama buries all of Earth’s creatures and taught me to nurse baby birds back to health after flying into the glass of our windows.  She is patient.  My mama was born in the city.  She’s ridden on the back of my dad’s motorcycle since forever, and they make quite a love story together.  My mama will listen to me when I’m scared and filled with doubts.  My mama took the time to help me study when I struggled in grade school.  She thinks its okay to have ice cream for dinner.  My mama has crazy freckles and delicate wrists.  She hates change.  But likes to change the furniture around in our house…a lot.  My mama doesn’t criticize.  She is loving and gentle.  But also stern.  My mama likes to be silly and dances her heart out to special songs.  Like “The Dogs Days are Over.”  My mama will agree to eating a giant iced cookie for lunch.  She is wonderful and thoughtful and like no one else I know.

Happy birthday to the best mama in the world!  You make me happy when skies are gray, and I love you for always.  I can’t wait to be home to have all our fun together forever.

13 comments

  1. Amanda Wozniak · · Reply

    aww this is so sweet. i’m sure the tears are gonna be flowin’ when our mama reads this!

    1. Aww, you were so right.

  2. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Awwww, thank you for the special birthday post!!!!! And Amanda was correct, tears are flowing!!!!! Love you and miss you!!!!!!

    1. Happy birthday, love and miss you too!

  3. Awww Happy Birthday Dana’s mom! So sweet.

    1. I’ll pass it on =)

  4. This was so sweet and Yes your mom is a great caring lovely lady….Happy Birthday Mary Ellen!

  5. Well….I don’t know about you guys, but MY tears are certainly flowing!! Everything you say is soooo true, Dana!! Your mom and I worked together for many years, and we encountered many different situations, I can think of no one else I would rather have had there with me, than your mom! Happy Birthday MEW!!

    1. Something else I love (but didn’t add) was how she always made the sick couch up for us when we were sick and stayed home from school. Such a wonderful nurse, at the hospital and at home!

  6. Happy birthday, Mary Ellen. I cried reading this, so sweet. Now I am off to call my mom. xo

    1. Awww, Chelsea!

  7. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Thanks to all for the sweet words on my birthday!!!! And again, thank you Dana!!!!

Leave a Reply

