A Hankerin’ for Victorians

victorian1Blame my love of Practical Magic, but a big white Victorian by the sea would be just fine by me.  While trying to be good and not go crazy during our two year (and counting) house search, it hit me last week how much I would still love a large older home with a view.  Not that that quite exists in Southeast Missouri, but the craving hasn’t subsided over the past couple days.  So let’s indulge it shall we?

victorian2

My favorite teen series I read growing up had awesome houses, the first being a large Queen Anne that housed girls during a summer drama camp.  Bay windows and window seats played a huge role in the plot-line; I can’t tell you how often I’ve dreamed of having a window seat of my very own.  Larry Garnett, one of my all time favorite residential architects, concocts such beauties as the house above.  Seriously, don’t you love it?

victorian3

And then there is this one with all that vegetation.  It kind of reminds me of my other love, Edward Scissorhands.  I think this house is in Texas of all places.  Jeal-lous.

victorian4This little beauty fits the bill if we ever decided to screw horizontality and build upward.  Of course it isn’t really little at all, but I’m envisioning the family room as a first-floor master bedroom, so that makes it a bit more practical.  Now all I need to find is a lot for sale in a bluff-like setting and I’m sold.

Do you have a soft spot for Victorians?

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

One comment

  1. Mary Ellen · · Reply

    Very lovely!!

Leave a Reply

